Vegan Pumpkin Tiramisu

I can’t seem to stop making pumpkin things this year!! I just can’t get enough of it 🙂 I came across this recipe on Pinterest, and could not resist!! It’s by Chef Chloe (for anyone who doesn’t know her, she won Cupcake Wars with her amazing vegan cupcakes). She actually attended the same culinary school that I went to! I didn’t know that until I looked her up to see how she’s become this big sensation in the vegan cooking world. I was was excited to see this, and I can’t wait to get her book, because after watching a video with her, she just seems like the sweetest person in the world. I made the recipe yesterday, and let me start by saying DO NOT TRY IT the day you make it. It does not taste good. The second day however, it is out of this world crazy good! I was so sad after I tried it the first day, after all the time I spent on it, but in all the reviews, people stated it tasted better the next day. I’m so glad I didn’t toss it because BOY were they right! I guess the flavors just need to sit and marry for a few hours. I bought my trifle bowl from Walmart for less than $8, which is crazy, because everywhere else I looked they were around $20. I changed a few things to the recipe, which I’ll write side notes for.

Pumpkin Tiramisu (Adapted from Chef Chloe)

**PUMPKIN CRÈME:

  • 1/3 cup cornstarch or arrowroot (I used arrowroot)
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¾ cup canned coconut milk, mixed well before measuring
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • ¾ cup maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (I added some extra cinnamon)
  • ½ teaspoon salt

You want to prepare this the day before or at least 5 hours before you plan on making the tiramisu. Add the cornstarch or arrowroot to the water and mix until smooth. Set aside, and add everything else to a medium saucepan. Over medium heat, bring everything to a boil and slowly add the cornstarch or arrowroot mixture, whisking to avoid any clumps. Once it thickens, take it off the heat to cool for about 15 minutes, and then pour it into a container to stick in the fridge for at least 5 hours or completely cooled.

Vanilla Cake: (I used my recipe)

  • 3 1/4 cups + 2 Tablespoons flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 cups cold water

Combine your flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt together into one bowl, and your oil, apple cider vinegar, extracts, and cold water in another bowl. Mix your dry ingredients into your wet in two batches, until just combined. Don’t over mix, or you’ll get a tough and chewy cake! Divide batter evenly into 3 8in round cake pans and bake at 350F for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then transfer to a cooling rack until completely cool.

Espresso Soak:

  • ½ cup amaretto
  • ¼ cup water
  • 3 tablespoons instant espresso (I used 6 tablespoons instant coffee)

Mix all the ingredients together until the instant espresso (or coffee) dissolves. Divide into 3 equal parts.

And last but not least:

  • Small chocolate chips, regular sized chocolate chips, OR a plain ol’ chocolate bar chopped finely
  • Coconut whipped cream

Assembly:

**If you use arrowroot, blend the pumpkin creme until completely smooth. This is important, because the arrowroot gives it more of a stretchy jelly-like texture which you can’t spread out. Once blended however, it loosens up and you can pour it easily.

Place one of the cakes in the bottom of the trifle bowl, trimming if necessary (I didn’t need to trim), poke it all over with a fork, and pour some of the espresso soak on top. Pour the pumpkin cream over the cake, and sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over it. Repeat these steps until all of the components are used up. Top off with some coconut whipped cream, and sprinkle some more chocolate to top it off. I used my coconut cream recipe.

Like I said, let this sit at least overnight in the fridge before trying it! It’s delicious!!!!!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Vegan Pumpkin Tiramisu

    • I have a list of some more pumpkin stuff I still need to make 🙂 I went to the Natural Gourmet Institute in Manhattan.

  1. Snap! Until this year I’d never made anything sweet with pumpkin, now I am turning it into baked goods faster than I can buy it! I love tiramisu too – this is on the ‘to bake’ list 🙂

      • Are you sitting down? I could talk pumpkin all day! I have a pumpkin & olive lasagne on my blog, plus I love turning it into curries with chickpeas & coconut milk, pumpkin soup [swoon], roasting and adding to a salad with baby spinach leaves and fetta, savoury tart with caramalised onions…
        Now I want pumpkin!

      • Oooooh myyyyy…..now I want pumpkin! All those sound DEELICIOUS! And luckily I have a can of pumpkin, and an actual pumpkin at home…I think I know what I’m making for dinner tonight!!

  2. Pingback: DIY Chevron Felt Flower Pillow | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

