Vegan chocolate OR vanilla cake

So, a few weeks ago, my uncle called asking for the recipe of the vegan chocolate cake I make, so he could make it for his sons girlfriend who can’t have dairy or soy products (how nice is that?! He’s so sweet.) I’ve been making this cake I believe since I’ve started eating vegan (about 5 years now), and strangely, it comes from a Tea magazine….I know…so random. I have cut this recipe in half, forgot ingredients, switched out many ingredients at once, and it always comes out good. So I was thinking to myself the other day, what if I just didn’t put the cocoa powder in it? Would that make it a delicious vanilla cake? Yes, yes it does. ๐Ÿ™‚ So here’s the recipe for the vanilla cake.

Vanilla cake:

3 1/4 cups + 2 Tablespoons flour
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup canola oil
2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract
2 cups cold water (could also use milk instead!)

You want to start out by preheating your oven to 350, and greasing, flouring, and lining 2 8in cakeย pans with parchment paper. I know, it sounds like a lot of work, why can’t you just use the parchment paper? Trust me, it comes out sooo easily, it’s worth it. And I have a really easy way of cutting your parchment paper circle for the pan.

Fold in half

Fold in half again.

Fold one side up to form a point.

Repeat step three.

Hold you point up to the center (eyeball it) and use your thumb to mark where you need to cut.

That’s what it should look like, once cut.

When you unfold your paper, it should fit pretty nicely in your pan like this! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, now that you have your pans lined, you want to start with mixing all your dry ingredients and your wet in separate bowls.

Mix them well before mixing them into each other.

Slowly, mix your dry into your wet, and mix until just combined, and no large lumps remain.

I actually used vanilla bean paste, so you see the pretty specs of vanilla. You don’t see it too much once it’s baked though, and I only used it because I was out of vanilla extract!

Pour into your pans and make sure they both have an even amount of batter.

I like to pat the bottoms of the pans to get any air bubbles out, but it’s not completely necessary. Go ahead and bake your cakes for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. When I half the recipe, it seems I have to bake for an extra 5-10 minutes. So just be aware!

As I waited for the cakes to bake, I came across this guy….tough lifeee, no one will play with him lol

Check out this beauty!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Let your cakes cool enough so that you can touch the pan and it’s not too hot. One you can turn them out of the pans, let them cool COMPLETELY before frosting. I have NO need to have a full, frosted cake in my house at this time, so I froze them until I need them. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, now that you have the vanilla recipe, here’s the chocolate version.

Chocolate cake:

3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
6 heaping Tablespoons cocoa
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup canola oil
2 Tablespoons white vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups cold water

Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another, then slowly add the dry into the wet and bake in 2 8in cake pans at 350 for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Done!

*Vanilla extract update* ๐Ÿ™‚


Remember my very first post, about the vanilla extract that my friend Tracy and I made?! Check them out now, about a week later…

Check out the color change!

I designed the labels, and I’m obsessed…I can’t get over how adorable they are!!!ย  …If I’m allowed to say that about my own work lol

Quick tutorial on how I made the labels!

I printed up the labels on some sticker paper my mom had lying around (I think they were called label stickers) and SOMEHOW (because this never happens to me) they printed out the PERFECT size.

Since they’re going out as gifts, I didn’t want someone to use it, and then have vanilla extract drip down and make the ink run, so I covered them with contact paper.

I don’t know if you can see (different computers are clearer than others) but I only covered the actual labels so I wasn’t wasting any contact paper.

I then, cut them using my paper cutter to get a nice, clean (and fast) cut. Be careful your blade is over the contact paper when you pull the blade down, or else you could wrinkle it. I don’t know if that makes sense, but if you were doing it, you’d understand.

Look how cute! Waterproofed bottle labels! ๐Ÿ™‚

Until tomorrow!

2 responses to “Vegan chocolate OR vanilla cake

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Extract « momoftwosalums·

  2. Pingback: Vegan Pumpkin Tiramisu | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

