Sugar skull earrings!!!

Okay, so if you can’t tell from the posts name, I LOVE sugar skulls. I mean even the name is cute! Remember my post with the sugar skull bag I made using a freezer paper stencil? My sister and I are a little obsessed.

So anyway, we went up to New Paltz (love!) a few weeks ago with our friend Nicole, and found these adorable (and surprisingly cheap, 2 for $5!) sugar skull bracelets from Groovy Blueberry.

(Got a nice hairy arm shot πŸ˜‰ lol, hey I’m Italian, Spanish and Irish! I can’t NOT have hairy arms! LOL) So, anyway, we were going to get one each, but then I realized get one to wear and one to use the beads! Score! I was really excited when I thought of that, because I couldn’t stop thinking of what to make with them! I used to have these sugar skull earrings on my Etsy site, and people LOVED them. The only difference was that the beads I used were not plastic, and a lot bigger. I loved them, don’t get me wrong, but I only had a turquoise color (which I love, but that’s the ONLY color I had, because they were on the expensive side). So to have this bracelet with all these different colors, and so cheap, I was really excited!

Day of the dead is all about COLOR, so I went with the red skulls, and made an orange-y rose out of polymer clay….and – of course! – I have a little tutorial for ya πŸ˜‰ and it COULDN’T be easier!

Start with four little pieces of polymer clay. Round them out by rolling them in the palm of your hand, and then press them with your finger to flatten.

Take one of your little pieces, and roll it up with your thumb and pointer finger, like so…

Now that you have your center, take one of the other pieces and wrap it around the center, but a bit higher.

Overlapping, continue with the third piece.

Finally, take the last piece and wrap it around, to complete your flower.

Now, for that extra clay behind your cute flower, pinch right below the flower until it opens up a bit.

Cut the excess clay, using a sharp knife.

And gently, put an flathead pin through the back.

Bake according to your clay (mine was 275F for 15 mins). You can leave the flathead pin in, as it’s metal and won’t be affected in the oven. THAT’S IT! Told you it was easy! You can make it bigger, have more petals, whatever your little hearts desire! πŸ™‚ So onto my earrings, once the rose bead cooled down, I took it off the pin, and put my little skull on, and topped it off with the rose.

I put a loop on the top, using my needle nose pliers and getting as close as I can to the rose without touching it.

Finally, I put them on some French ear wires and they’re all done!! I LOVE THEMMM!!! They really look like they’re all red, but in person, the roses are more orange than red.

So, I looked around online for these specific beads, and couldn’t find them, but if you Google sugar skull or day of the dead beads you’ll find a bunch! **If you don’t feel like making it yourself, you can purchase one at my etsy store!**

Onto a COMPLETELY unrelated subject, I CAN NOT get “Somebody that I Used to Know” by Gotye out of my head!! I have literally listened to it three times in a row! Like, play, listen, rewind, play again. I don’t think I’ve done that since….Hanson came out with MMMbop. LOL anyone else have this problem?! Because apparently it’s a very addicting song according to a few others that I’ve talked to!

Anywayyyy…off to listen to it one more time lol…

Until tomorrow!

9 responses to “Sugar skull earrings!!!

  1. I love these. My partner and I just got married and had a Dia de los Muertos theme for our wedding. Do you have a link for a tutorial for the sugar skull bags you made?

  2. Very cute mad crafter! Please do more sewing DIYs soon… I think you may be inspiring me to finally learn! Haha πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Happy birthday to my saaaster! « diary of a mad crafter·

  4. Pingback: Rose earrings that make my earlobes happy. « Baking, Making, and Crafting with Mrs M·

  5. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

