Easy peasy pineapple sorbet!

It is (finally) getting to be summer here in NY, and we need some tasty treats to keep cool! I love something tasty that I can whip up in a few minutes. When I say this sorbet is easy peasy, I mean EASY PEASY! Especially if you have a good blender. I have the Ninja, andΒ  I LOVE it. It crushes cubes like a beast. However, if you don’t have a great blender, there’s a little more to this sorbet. Not much, but a little more waiting…

 

So I started with a 16oz bag of frozen pineapple chunks. If you don’t have a great blender, get fresh or thawed pineapple chunks.

 

I stuck the whole bag, about 3 tablespoons of agave, and started with half a cup of water. You could also use coconut water, or coconut milk. I’m definitely trying coconut milk next time! That would make it more of a sherbet than sorbet though. I love using agave for things like this, because first of all, it’s already liquid, so the sorbet won’t get gritty like it would with plain sugar, and secondly, because it’s like a syrup, it won’t freeze, and then your sorbet won’t get rock hard in the freezer πŸ™‚ This is my favorite agave, and we actually get a 6 pack from Amazon.com at a crazy low price.

 

Next, just hit blend! I needed to add a little more water, but it was still less than 1 full cup. The water and sweetener all depend on your taste, and the ripeness of your pineapple. You may like it sweeter or not as sweet as me! So add to your liking. After you blend for a little while, it should looks creamy (and delicious), like this…

 

Scoop it out, and eat it right away (like I did) or stick it in your freezer to harden a little more. I like mine really soft and creamy! I sprinkled some coconut flakes on top for added texture πŸ™‚ If you’re doing it the bad blender way, this is when you would stick it in the freezer, and all you have to do from here, is stir it every half hour or so until the texture is like sorbet. You could also stick it in an ice cream maker if you have one!!

 

I also stuck them in some pop molds for later!! After I filled two, I realized how good it would be to add some small coconut flakes, so I mixed some into the sorbet before filling the other molds.

Can’t wait to try them later! It’s not even 12:30 and it’s already 87F!!!!

 

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Easy peasy pineapple sorbet!

    • You very well can!! And you don’t even need to add sugar if you don’t want to. If your fruit is ripe enough, it should be sweet enough πŸ™‚ I’ve done it with bananas, watermelon, and pineapple. I am almost positive that you could do it with mango and it would be amazing. If you use an artificial sweetener, which I never recommend, but IF you do, you could add that if you really want.

Leave a Reply

