DIY Felt Flowers: A Tutorial

I just love these guys, they’re so cute, and you can use them for so many different things! They’re a little time consuming, but in my opinion, totally worth it. Sometimes if I don’t have time so sit there and do everything all at once, I’ll cut a few, walk away, cut some more, and then save the gluing part for later. I use a hot glue gun, but if you don’t feel comfortable, you can use a glue you’re more familiar with.

I start with a piece of 29 cent(!!) plain felt (not the stiff or sticky stuff!) One sheet makes about 1 1/2 small flowers. (I forgot my camera at my parents house, so excuse the bad quality cell phone pics!)

 

Then, with paper, I make 3 guides for the petals. One large, medium, and small. The size of these all depends on how big or small you want to make them, but they always have to be descending in size. Holding the guides up to the felt, I cut 8 large, 7 medium, and 6 small. This too, will depend on how large you want to make your flower. You may need more, or less petals.

 

Once all the petals are cut, you can begin gluing. Start with one side at a time, and overlap them. You want to hold the sides down to make sure the glue has completely dried. I think my fingers have gone numb from hot glue, because I’ve been burned so many times, so beeee carefullll!!! It’s not fun getting burnt with hot glue!

 

Now that the most annoying part is over with, you get to assemble the flower! Cut out a little circle from the felt, and glue down your first layer. You may or may not have to overlap the petals, but you want them to be snuggled in right next to each other. Then, going in between the large petals and closer towards the center of the circle, glue down the medium petals, and finally, the smallest. I find it easiest to apply the glue to the petal, and place down. Another tip: Try and do this as neatly as possible, as you don’t want the glue to show!

 

For the ugly center, you can either glue some beads down (or whatever else floats your boat), or you can cut out a little 4 petaled flower and glue it down in the center, which is what I did.

 

And there you have it! An adorable little felt flower! I’ll be using these on the baby headbands that I’ll be selling in my Etsy store, once I open! 🙂

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

14 responses to “DIY Felt Flowers: A Tutorial

  1. You just made my day! I love these and they solve a *flower* problem I have been juggling with. Was gonna learn how to crochet just to make gorgeous textural flowers, but I truly believe this idea can work in place of. and why not experiment with velvets. hmmm

  2. BTW: did you say you left your camera at your parents house????? Because you know possession is 9/10ths of the law. Not to mention FINDERS KEEPERS!! — Seriously, LOVE this felt flower idea. Thanks.

  3. ooooh love it! with hot glue, i had seen a lady who had a glass of cold water n towel nearby n she dipped her fingers in it to help them not burn. i have also burned myself many times! the suffering of crafters lol

  4. Pingback: DIY Ear Warmer Headband | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a comment