DIY Baby Flower Headband: A Tutorial

My friend is due this month to have her (third!) baby girl! She invited my husband and I over for dinner tonight (although she could deliver any day now!) and I figured I’d bring a little gift along, since I probably won’t see her after baby girl is born. Like I said, this is baby girl #3, and she’s also got a boy, so she definitely didn’t need any clothes, and didn’t need too much in general, so I thought I’d make a cute and simple headband. She, like me, isn’t too much into the pink and purple and sparkly cutesy girlie girl stuff out there. I agree, it’s cute….but I’m more of a babies-wearing-grown-up-clothes-and-colors-are-too cute-for-words kinda gal. So, I decided to go with neutral colors and patterns.

So, this headband seriously couldn’t get any easier. All I did was cut a 15in x 6.5in rectangle of jersey knit fabric. *Very important, you want to cut it with the stretchy-ness going longways!* Once it’s cut, fold it upwards and pin it down. *Another important thing, stretch the fabric as you sew, that way it will still have the ability to stretch!

 

Next, you want to turn it inside out and pin the ends together. Sew the ends closed (I sewed about an inch away), and then cut closely to the seam, so there isn’t any excess fabric.

 

Keeping the seam outwards, hand sew a few stitches (about 1/4in wide) across the seam, pulling as you go to gather it.
Once you get to the other side, tie a knot, and go through it one more time to make sure it doesn’t come undone. I actually had some fabric flowers lying around that I got on clearance from Michaels awhile ago, so I used one of them, but you could also make your own (I’ll have a tutorial on how I make mine soon!). I just sewed through the bottom of the flower (through the felt) and then through the band. You want to do your best to cover up that ugly seam!

 

And it’s all done! If I didn’t need to take pictures of the steps, this headband would have taken me less than 10 minutes to make! And what a cute little addition to a shower gift 🙂 Now, this size, which ended up being about 14in, is made specifically for a newborn. If you want to make it for a child (or maybe yourself? 🙂 ), you’ll have to figure out how much more fabric to add. I just simply Googled “newborn jersey knit headband” and found the measurement.

 

I made a cute box to put it in (tutorial for the box soon to come!) and adorned it with a handmade tag, paper flower, and tied it together with some Martha Stewart bakers twine 🙂

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

9 responses to “DIY Baby Flower Headband: A Tutorial

  1. baby gift ideas are great! love how simple this is! and altho i have boys, i agree, girls look cute in other colours besides pink! (i didn’t even like pink as a little girl once upon a time!) thanks for the post!

    • Haha yeah, I mean I totally see what people see in all the really girlie girl stuff out there, as little girls look cute in just about anything, but there is just nothing like teenie tiny grown up clothes lol. Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Pingback: DIY Gift Box: A Tutorial | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: DIY Felt Flowers: A Tutorial | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

