Shoebox Lid To Wall Art

I love repurposing things! You save money, you help save the environment, and you feel better about it all! πŸ™‚ As you may know, I just went to Farm Aid, where the love of my life, Jack Johnson played. I. Love. Jack. Johnson. And now my sister and I can’t stop singing his songs. Well, you may also know, I’m in love with Hawaii. I left my heart there one year ago when my husband and I came home from our honeymoon. The lyrics “You and your heart, shouldn’t feel so far apart” speak to me. (I am aware that that sounds corny, but I don’t care) And I decided that I needed to make some wall art to put up in my home to remind me that one day I’ll get out of this state and move closer to HI! I have come to terms that I will probably never move to Hawaii, but California is the next best thing (in my opinion). I’ve been in love with California for so many years, and hope that I never give up on my dream of living there. Now, I have a daily reminder, and motivation!

I was going to purchase a canvas, or at the very least, some foam board, when I went into my closet and saw the box for the boots that I got this season – which on a side note, are the cutest boots ever and I couldn’t be anymore excited that I can finally wear them!! – I looked at the lid and it came to me. It was perfect!

Here’s the lid:

 

I started by covering up the little hole on the left. I just used some sticker paper, so I didn’t take a picture. Then, I painted! I wanted it to be blue, like the ocean, so I painted layers of different shades of blue πŸ™‚

 

Next, I went on trusty ol’ PicMonkey. I picked a font I liked, and figured out the size I wanted. Then, I traced the letters (BACKWARDS, if you’re tracing on printed paper), onto my paper.

Then, I cut them out, using an Xacto knife to cut the centers out. (BTW if you have a Cricut, there’s no need for any of this….this is how us po’ people get there cut out letters lol). First I placed the letters where I wanted them so I don’t mess anything up…like putting the apostrophe in the wrong spot (which I fixed when I glued them all down!)

 

I used a piece of paper to make sure that the words were straight, and Mod Podged one letter down at a time.

 

After I glued the words down, I put a layer of Mod Podge over the whole surface.

 

And that’s it! Free (adorable and motivational) wall art!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

4 responses to “Shoebox Lid To Wall Art

Leave a Reply

