Favorite Niece Necklace: Mod Podge Dimensional Magic Tutorial

Ok, so remember my lilac necklace post? How I used the Mod Podge Dimensional Magic? And how I didn’t like it? Well….I think I might have lied. I’m actually pretty impressed with it now! I tried it again after my friend Tracy had used it and it came out really good. It dried clear, and without any wrinkles, which is what happened with my lilac necklace. I didn’t mind that it was cloudy for that particular project, because it gave it an antique feel, but for most projects, you’d want a nice crisp and clear finish. I think the problem with the first time I used it, was that I was expecting it to be exactly like resin. It’s not. But I’m ok with that! It’s not as dangerous as resin (I had a horrible experience with resin once, where it started smoking!) and it’s sooo much easier, no mixing required! I think the other problem was that I kept touching it to see if it was dry, and that’s what caused the wrinkles. Either way, this time I left it until it dried, and it dried wrinkle free and crystal clear. And I’m pretty excited about it!

 

So, like I’ve said in plenty of my posts, I’ve started my Christmas gifts really early this year, and for my two nieces, I’ve decided to make them necklaces that say “Favorite Niece”. Of course they’ll both get one, because I love them equally! I got 4 of these heart bezels from Hobby Lobby for only $1.99 (I LOVE that store!!), but what I hate about bezels is that you really never get any kind of guides to use for the inside. So what I do, is take a thin piece of paper and mold it inside, using my finger nails to get up against all the walls of the bezel, and then cut it out using the creases as my guide.

 

Next, I chose the paper that I’d use for the background in the bezel. Of course purple, because they’re both little girly girls, and I printed out “favorite niece” (or niece favorite…I don’t know why I placed them like that lol) from the computer, because I have horrible handwriting.

 

Using double sided tape (or glue), I decorated the paper.

Then, I went over it with a thin layer of plain Mod Podge. This needs to be done, otherwise the paper can lift and air bubbles can get under when you put the Dimensional Magic on.

 

Using double sided tape (or a strong adhesive), I put my paper into the bezel, and first squeezing any air bubbles out, I put my Dimensional Magic over it. You have to be careful you don’t add too much, otherwise it can pour over the sides and then it just becomes a big ol’ mess. Another tip, do this step in an area where it can sit for a few hours and dry. Trust me, you don’t want to have to move it after you’ve already done the Dimensional Magic.

 

Look how nice and clear it dried! šŸ™‚

 

I made a cute little necklace to go with the pendant, and it was all done! I think they’re going to love them šŸ™‚

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! šŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

15 responses to “Favorite Niece Necklace: Mod Podge Dimensional Magic Tutorial

  1. I foolishly doubted your skills when I got to the just-modgepodged cloudy charm picture….but I tip my hat to you ( although its like one day out of the year that you will catch me wearing a hat) the finished product came out amazing. Fab job.

  2. Great job with the pendant!
    Also if you like to make paper beads, the Mod Pod dimensional magic works AMAZING as a coating, dries hard and clear and very shiny!!.

  3. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a comment