DIY Dragonfly Charm

Now that Christmas is over, I can finally post the gifts I’ve made!!! This project got me SOOO excited when it all came together. I know it seems like it’s complicated, but it was actually really easy (and fun!) I made one for my momma and my friend Tracy, both who love dragonflies 🙂

For the wings, I used Mod Podge’s Dimensional Magic (love this stuff)!dimensionalmagic

 

For each set of wings, I made two loops. I placed them on parchment paper, flattening them out if needed. Then, I sprinkled some glitter on the bottom, applied the Dimensional Magic, and finished them off with some more glitter. If the Dimensional Magic bleeds under the wire a little, that’s totally fine! You can just trim that away once it’s dried. They usually take a few hours to dry, so don’t try peeling them off until they’re completely clear! (P.S–you could use this method for so many other things! Flower petals, butterfly wings, jewelry charms etc.)dragonfly1

Now to start the body. I began with 2 small beads, 4 medium, and 3 larger. Then, you want to wrap the wings around the wire. Do this carefully, as you don’t want to break them! If you’re really good at wire wrapping, and can get it really tight, than you’re good. I, on the other hand, had to use some super glue to make them stay. Once the glue dried, I put one more of the larger beads on, and topped it off with a bead to make the “head”. I made a little loop at the top, and wire wrapped a metal hanger. You could also use a ribbon though! dragonfly2

These make great ornaments, but you could also hang them on your rear view mirror, in a window, or from the ceiling…..I can go on and on! 🙂dragonfly3

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

18 responses to “DIY Dragonfly Charm

    • Thank you 🙂 I bought mine at Michaels! I’ve seen it at Hobby Lobby as well. Should be with all the other Mod Podge products 🙂

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

    • I believe aluminum. Its very easy to bend. Not sure what gauge, but you could use whatever gauge you want!

  2. Pingback: ENGELS / Libelle hanger maken « ~ * Spirituele zoektocht / Pagan Ouderschap * ~·

  3. making this for my daughter along with some cool butterflies i saw made out of plastic soda bottles, she looooove butterflies lady bugs, dragonflies all the outdoor nature stuff. we’re gonna surprise her one day when she comes home from school with a room full of flutterers:P ty for helping me add another cool thing for her.

    • I’m not sure about the length, it depends on how big/small you want it to be. I played around with a few different sizes until I found a nice size for my specific project. As for th thickness of the wire, you want something on the thin side that can be bent easily.

    • It’s really up to you! I’m not sure what size mine were…I just made sure I had a bigger one for the head 🙂

    • I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong, the glue is definitely very delicate so you have to be careful with it. You could try shaking the glue to make sure it’s completely mixed together? Or you could try adding more layers once the glue has dried. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment