Homemade Kahlua

For Christmas this year, a few lucky people got some homemade Kahlua! I was SO excited about this when I came across the post HERE! I literally picked up the things that day and made it. There’s nothing that I love better than really easy recipes for things you’d think were complicated. This recipe is so simple! I followed it exactly, since I’d never made it before, and though I haven’t tried it yet, it smells amazing! The bottles were actually root beer bottles that I had saved, and sanitized (in my dishwasher). My favorite thing about this gift was the way I packaged it all up!! It came out soooo adorable! I made the labels on PicMonkey (you can download them for free if you click the links that follow the picture! πŸ™‚ ), and stuck it on with some striped washi tape. For the tops, I actually purchased them online last summer, because I wanted to make some strawberry wine (never did though!). I didn’t want to have to buy a corker, and then corks and anything else that would’ve been needed, so I looked around and found out that, though ugly, these little plastic corks were perfect for sealing a bottle for up to 2 years or something like that. I decorated them with an adhesive sheet of cork (that I purchased from Michaels in the the scrapbook paper section (I actually had some left over from when I made my vacation jar). I stamped a little heart on some paper, put it through my Xyron, and it went from ugly to adorable! To finish the bottles off, I wrote out a recipe for a White Russian, and tied it on with some bakers twine πŸ™‚kahlua

Download the Christmas one HERE!

Download the blank one HERE! (You can head over to PicMonkey and write your name out, or whatever message you’d like πŸ™‚ )

I just love the way they came out! Thank you Anne Powers at APartyStyle.com for the fabulous recipe!! πŸ™‚

kahlua4

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called β€œYour Pictures!”, located right next to the β€œAbout This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

12 responses to “Homemade Kahlua

  1. Hey, these are great. But I need to see those cork tops, the paper you used to top it off and the web address of your supplier. — Come on Mad Crafter give it up. My place is filling up with recyclable green bottles just waiting to become something wonderful.

    • Thanks!! It’s sooo easy, I couldn’t believe it! The hard part is waiting for it to sit for the 6 weeks!

    • Hahah! Thank you so much!! I totally agree…anything handmade is awesome in my book! Hope you had a great Christmas and you have a happy new year as well!

  2. Pingback: Ugly Sweater Partaaay! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

