Fingerprint charms

So, I’ve never put up two posts in a day, but I was just so excited about this, that I couldn’t wait! I’ve seen fingerprint jewelry all over, but it’s usually really, really expensive, and it usually requires you to receive a kit to press your fingerprint into and then you need to send it back and then they can make it. On pinterest, I’ve seen a bunch of tutorials where they do it with salt dough and polymer clay, and I tried the salt dough and you could barely make out the prints, so thought I’d give the polymer clay a try. I mean it makes sense, because whenever working with polymer clay, I’d get my fingerprints all over it, which I’d file off after baking it. Well, it came out awesome!!! I’m obsessed….

I started off with some silver Sculpey clay (1130 Silver)

Then, I ripped off a little piece and rolled it into a ball.

I put it directly onto a piece of aluminum foil so I could stick it right into the toaster oven after I’m done, then put some more aluminum foil on top, and smooshed it down with a flat lid.

I pressed my fingertip into it.

And then had my husband press his fingertip into it at an angle to make a heart.

Then, after about 5 tries, it came out to a perfect heart, so I cut it with a fluted round cookie cutter.

Poked a hole through the top with a toothpick for my jump ring to go through, and baked it according to the directions (275 for 15 minutes).  I love my new necklace! Some people spray paint it with a metallic silver, but I think it looks fine just like this 🙂 **I actually DID try spraying it with metallic paint and I don’t know if it’s the brand, or what, but it got SO STICKY and disgusting! And still, months after spraying it, it’s still super tacky. So I wouldn’t recommend trying that!**

Until tomorrow!! (or maybe later? I can’t stop! lol)

23 responses to “Fingerprint charms

  1. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  2. Pingback: DIY Doily Necklace: A Tutorial | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Thanks! I was going to try the salt dough tonight but am SO glad I found your blog! A stop at the craft store for some clay is now in the books for me tonight! I want to make the heart one for my husband and I and then two smaller single ones of my boys. I’m in love!

    • Oh great!! 🙂 yeah I don’t know if the other people are using a certain kind of salt or what, but it came out awful when I tried it with the salt dough! I’d love to put it up on my fan pics page if you make them!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: 52 Ideas for Mother’s Day Gifts | Musings·

  5. What perfect timing you have! My BF was just asking me to make him something small that he could keep in his pocket while at work and I was looking all over for a tutorial on this! I even posted pictures on my blog that I have been neglecting to use. 😛 You are awesome~!

    • First off–that’s adorable that your BF asked you to do that, and secondly, glad I could help!:)

  6. Hello there, I found your web site by the use of Google at the same time as searching for
    a comparable topic, your website came up, it appears great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch
    out for brussels. I will appreciate if you happen to continue
    this in future. Numerous folks will likely be benefited
    out of your writing. Cheers!

  7. Pingback: 50 Handprint Crafts You Can Make with Your Child | Nanny Websites·

  8. Pingback: 50 handprint crafts you can make with your child | Momaha Blogs·

  9. You can spray these with metallic paint without being sticky. You have to use Rust-oleum painters Touch Ultra cover Metallic Aluminum Spray then finish with a Clear Gloss Polyurethane (Varathane, Gloss indoor).Acrylic spray does not set well with the clay.

  10. I want to do something similar for a VBS craft in July. How many pendants about this size will a 2oz package make? (Roughly) Cna you share the link to where you bought the clay? I want to make sure I get the right one, I’ve never used Sculpey brand before. Any other tips to share before we try this with 40 kids?

    • I’d say the 2oz pack (like the one I used) would make roughly 6 or so charms. I actually bought my clay at the store Michaels. I haven’t tried a polymer clay that I didn’t like though, they’re all pretty similar in my opinion. This project is so super easy the only thing that will be difficult about doing it with 40 kids is keeping track of who’s is who’s!

  11. Thank you Love the finger print necklace. My daughters Birthday is just around the corner will make either a bracelet with her grand children’s finger prints and mine, or just her grandchildren for a bracelet she will love it

Leave a comment