Challenge #3 Polymer necklaces

These necklaces were one of the very first things I put into my “things to make” folder, so it’s about time I finally made them! And I am so glad I did, I love them! 🙂

 

 

 

This is what the first one looked like. It appears as if it’s on glass or shrinky dink, but I made mine on polymer clay.

 

I started off by rolling my clay out, cutting it to the rectangle, and poking a hole on the top with a toothpick. I baked it in my toaster oven at 275F for 15 minutes. See how dirty it is? I hate that about polymer clay….but I have a trick on getting it nice, clean and smooth.

 

Using a block file, I set aside for my polymer clay, I buff away any dirt or bumps. I also rounded out the sides. Notice the kitty cat bite marks on the file lol.

 

Check out the difference!

 

Next, using the thin paintbrush I used on my Bird Mug, I painted my fennel plants. To make the dots, I cut the tip off the end of my toothpick and dabbed it.

 

And here it is all done!! It was so easy I don’t know why it took me so long to make!

 

Here’s the other necklace…

 

I made this one with polymer clay as well. So, I started it off the same way as my other necklace. After I filed it, I mixed some paint with water to get it see-through and streaky.

 

It looked better once it dried…I tried free handing it at first, and didn’t like the way it came out, so I drew the design on some contact paper and cut it out with an Xacto knife to make a stencil. It came out much better. I want to try it again, because I’m a perfectionist, and it looks a little bumpy and I couldn’t get the lines to be nice and thin, with a marker, and then mod podge over it to seal it in. I don’t HATE it, but I’m not in love. Here it is all finished!

Until tomorrow!!

11 responses to “Challenge #3 Polymer necklaces

  1. I love the one with the bird on it! I may have to try this I bought some really cool bamboo beeds to make necklaces with. One of my many projects I bought stuff for and never did!

  2. I love the look of these necklaces, I have never used Polymer Clay but think I’d better get around to buying some, is there just one colour? If not, what do you recommend starting out with? Is it the same as FIMO as I have some laying around somewhere. (BTW my cat loves my block nail files and they have bite marks in them too, I have to hide them!). Cath

    • Thank you! Polymer clay comes in maaaany colors. And I’ll tell you know, it’s addicting!! I believe that FIMO is polymer clay just a certain brand. I used Sculpey, and I’ve used FIMO before and they both seem the same to me. My animals love anything that they know I use haha, I can’t start a project without one of them sitting directly on top of it lol

Leave a Reply

