DIY Doily Necklace: A Tutorial

Sorry I missed a(nother) post yesterday! I wasn’t feeling great, but I feel much better now, and I have a super cute and easy tutorial for ya’s! You may know how much I love polymer clay from my many many other polymer clay posts. I especially love making jewelry with it. I saw this picture a while ago, and really loved it. It was a doily imprinted necklace but made of metal, and not to mention, I couldn’t afford it. So when we got these cute tiny doilies at work, I knew exactly what I’d make with them! I had some silver polymer clay left over from when I made my fingerprint necklace, so I used that, though it would be cute in different colors too!

These are the little guys I picked up from Michaels! I got them for less than $4 and used a coupon.

 

Using a little rolling pin, I flattened out the clay a little bit.

 

I centered the doily and using a flat object, I pushed down to flatten and imprint it onto the clay.

 

I poked a little hole through the top with a toothpick (which I didn’t take a picture of) and baked according to the directions. Once it cooled, I put a jump ring and chain through it.

 

Love this necklace! πŸ™‚

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

18 responses to “DIY Doily Necklace: A Tutorial

  1. Soooo nice! I’m falling in love with clay through your tutorials! Q: can i paint that a different colour? love it!

  2. I really like this. Haven’t worked with polymer clay before because everything I saw was too cutsy and not my style. But this definitely is. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

