DIY Cinnamon Dough Ornaments

I know there are so many cinnamon dough recipes out there, but I’ve looked around, and some of them seemed like they needed way too much stuff, or too much drying time. I tried a super simple recipe today and it came out perfect and what’s even better is there are only two ingredients….apple sauce, and cinnamon (and I added sparkles, but it’s optional!!). If you want to add another spice as well, that would work too! I’m loving the way these came out, and they smell amazing, and your house will smell amazing while they bake!

I started with 1/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons cinnamon (which I purchased at the dollar store BTW!!) Your dough being too dry or too wet can depend on the weather outside (believe it or not!), so you may need to add some more applesauce or cinnamon. I added my sparkles in with the cinnamon so it would be distributed evenly throughout the dough. My dough appeared crumbly, but held together just fine, I had no problems with it breaking apart while rolling out or releasing it from the cookie cutter. I rolled the dough out between plastic wrap to about 1/4in thick. Keep in mind that the thicker you roll it out, the longer it will need to bake. I found poking the hole while still in the cookie cutter helped keep it’s shape, and I was able to make a nice sized hole easily. I put them on a parchment paper lined pan, and baked them at 200F for 2 hours, flipping them halfway. They came out nice and dry, unlike some of the other recipes that I saw suggest leaving them out to dry after and before baking or even overnight. They came out so cute, I can’t wait to get them on my tree and on some gifts!! πŸ™‚

 

I just love the color!

 

I used some bakers twine to hang them, but you could use yarn, thread, jute (which would look ADORABLEEEE), or whatever your heart desires!! πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Friday!!

25 responses to “DIY Cinnamon Dough Ornaments

  1. Nice!! Deff going to make them today with morgen… Hopefully i have some sparkles if not im sure the $ or walmart has them:)

  2. I found an ornament like this in crumbs at the bottom of the ornament box a few years back. I miss that ornament and may have to just make my own – thanks for sharing. Happy Tuesday:)

    • Yeah I think it’s the recipes with glue that take a long time to dry. Not sure what the difference is, other than the drying time, but these were bone dry in two hours, WHILE making the house smell delicious, so worked for me! πŸ™‚

  3. i’ve always wanted to make these!!! adding sparkles is SUCH a good idea! def making these next month! thanks!

    • I was the same way, but I was so intimidated by some of the recipes out there, so when I saw you can make them with just the two ingredients I was ecstatic! And I thought the sparkles added a lil sumthin sumthin πŸ™‚ I was worried they’d dull from being in the oven, but they were fine!

  4. I tried this recipe yesterday and i keep having the problem of the ornament wanting to crack. I thought i wasnt making them thick enough so i did a second batch. But those wanted to crack as well. Some turned out good but some….well, didnt. I found that wearing plastic gloves and working the mixture back into a ball helped with cutting out the other shapes but I believe it was making the mixture weaker cause of the layers. I will have to upload some photos but all in all I had a lot of fun with this one!

    • I heard that from a friend actually, I suggested maybe turning the temp on the oven down, and not baking them for as long. Or maybe add more applesauce, if the dough is dry. I didn’t have that problem at all though so I’m surprised to hear it from two people! I hope at least it had your house smelling great πŸ™‚

      • It did have the house smelling awesome! I will have to try again. Thank goodness for dollar stores and 50 cent cinnamon jars!

  5. Pingback: Yummy treats for your Christmas tree - Thoughts for Smiling·

    • Thanks!! I wanted to try something different from all the other recipes I’d seen out there, and I really hadn’t seen any with sparkles! I love the addition too, and so glad they didn’t get dull from the oven!

  6. I totally remember this from my childhood. Wow, what a blast from the past. I remember my mom and I making this after dinner. We left it overnight to harden. The next morning, my dad said that the cookies we made didn’t taste right. He ATE two of the ornaments. I can’t believe he actually ate two. You would think after the first bite you would stop. LOL We still talk about it to this day.

    • Oh my!! That’s so funny!! Hahah I actually had to tell my husband not to eat them, because I’m sure if he saw them sitting therein the kitchen he’d have eaten them too lol

  7. How many ornaments did you get out of the 1/4 cup recipe above? πŸ™‚ Just liked you on facebook. Looking forward to more mad crafts!

    • Honestly I don’t remember! I feel like I got a lot though! It does depend on how thick you roll them and how big of a cookie cutter you use though! Glad to hear you enjoy my blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment