Spiderweb Wine Glasses: A Tutorial

I love Halloween!! It’s so much fun! The movies, costumes, fun with food, and of course, the decor! As I was going through my Halloween box, I came across my spiderweb wine glasses that I had made a few years ago. I just LOVE these guys so much that I wanted to share how I made them. They are tricky at first, but once you get the hang of it, they’re quite easy. I purchased the wine glasses from the dollar store, and used glass paint in a squeeze bottle. You could very well paint them on with a thin paintbrush, I just found the squeeze bottle really easy. Martha Stewart has just recently come out with a new glass paint collection, all of which are in squeeze bottles. I sound like it’s my job to promote Martha huh? I wish!!! I just love her stuff so much!!

So I start with a piece of paper, which I trace the bottom of the wine glass. Then, I mark around the circle, matching each mark on the opposite side.

 

*I no longer had the paint that I had used a few years ago when I had made these, so the paint I used for this tutorial is actually not a glass paint, and I used it ONLY to show how the webs were done. The glass paint I used was more thick and stable, as most glass paints are. So it looks sloppy, but it’s only because the paint it loose, it was just the only paint I had in a squeeze bottle!*

I found that by starting by making the lines down the base is the easiest way to go. Then, beginning  from the top, connect the webs. I like to turn my wine glass with my other hand as I paint to help make it easier.

 

Here are my original glasses! Note how thin and crisp the lines are. I added some glittered glass paint over the whole base for an extra effect. For the spider charms (which I think are absolutely necessary!), I purchased them on eBay (here’s a listing for them. Sometimes they can make a special listing for you if you wanted to order only a few), but if you wanted to make them for this Halloween, I’m sure you could find some spider charms in your local arts and crafts store. I just liked these ones in particular, because there was a space for the different colored jewels that I added.

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Spiderweb Wine Glasses: A Tutorial

  1. might make some of these as a halloween pressie for my sister, we are both obssesed with halloween and dont give each other xmas pressies just halloween ones! (i have halloween lights in my room all year round)

Leave a comment