DIY Scratch-off Card: A Tutorial

Remember my post long, long ago, Do You Know Your ABC’s? Well, for one of the pages, I made a scratch -off section on it, because my husband loves scratch-off tickets. It’s super, super easy, and chances are you have all the things that you need, laying around your house already.

For the scratch-offs you’ll need:

  • Dish soap
  • Acrylic paint
  • Paintbrush (I like to use the foam brushes for this project, as you don’t get streaks)
  • Contact paper, or Scotch tape

Start by mixing your soap and paint together. You want equal parts, and if it seems it’s thick, add some more dish soap. If it’s too thick, it’s sometimes harder to scratch off.

 

I wanted to make my scratch-off section in the shape of a heart, so I took my contact paper, traced a heart on the back, and cut it out. You could also do this with Scotch tape, but it would probably be easier to just have a basic shape, such as a square or rectangle.

 

Next, to make it easier, I traced around the heart (with a pencil, so you can erase it afterwards) where I wanted it placed on the paper. Then I wrote what I wanted under the scratch-off, and erased the pencil mark.

 

Paint your contact paper with the soap/paint mixture. I stick a little double sided tape under the contact paper so it doesn’t move around while painting it, and put it on a paper plate for easy clean up. I painted 2 thin coats. On a lot of the tutorials I’ve seen for these, the paint is always really streaky….I feel like it looks sloppy, but then again, I’m a perfectionist! I found that using a foam brush makes it come out streak-free.

 

After both coats have dried, I peeled my heart off, and placed it over the words I wrote, pressing down (not rubbing!) to make sure it’s stuck on the paper.

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

15 responses to “DIY Scratch-off Card: A Tutorial

  1. I love this idea! Did you write on the card or on the contact paper? Would be awesome for a scavenger hunt!!

Leave a comment