Fusilli With Smokey Tomato Vinaigrette: A Recipe

A few weeks ago, I was watching Giada At Home on the Food Network, and she made this delicioussss looking pasta dish, Orzo with Smokey Tomato Vinaigrette. I had my husband pick the ingredients up from work that day and made it. It was sooo good! The first time, I had made it with the orzo, and it was great, but I wanted to make it more of a dinner than a side the second time, so I used fusilli instead. Both ways are delicious! I followed her recipe for the most part, but because I didn’t have the smoked salt, I used the tiniest drop of liquid smoke instead. I don’t know what the taste is in comparison, but I loved it, and my favorite thing about it, is it couldn’t get any easier! It’s a recipe that’s going in my favorites!

Fusilli With Smokey Tomato Vinaigrette: (Recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentiis)

  • 1 pound fusilli pasta
  • 1 pound (2 dry pints) cherry tomatoes

Vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 cup packed fresh basil leaves, torn
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 drop of liquid smoke (this stuff is REALLY strong!)
  • salt to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus more for seasoning
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan (I used Almesan from Veganomicon!)

 

Start by putting your (washed) cherry tomatoes over the stove in a nonstick pan until the skin had charred. I would also get your pasta going now, as the rest of the process is quick and easy!

 

Then, put your tomatoes, along with all the other ingredients (except parmesan), and blend until completely smooth.

 

Once your pasta is cooked and drained, return to the pot, and add your sauce over medium heat. It looks liquidy at first, but let it go for a few minutes until the pasta absorbs some of the sauce and it gets creamier.

 

And that’s it! Just check for seasoning, add your parmasan (or almesan), and serve 🙂

 

You should definitely try the orzo version as well though, it’s deeelish!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

 

4 responses to “Fusilli With Smokey Tomato Vinaigrette: A Recipe

Leave a Reply

