Saran Wrap Nail Art

I saw a tutorial on Pinterest the other day using saran wrap to paint a design on nails, and it looked so awesome I just had to try it!! I wanted to try it using a mint green and gold, so when my sister was over the other day I chose her as my subject (poor her!). It came out even better than I thought it would!

The color I used was Turquoise & Caicos by Essie (LOVE this color!!) I started with a base coat and then 2 coats of color. After it dried for about 10 minutes, I poured a little gold metallic acrylic paint (yes, the paint you buy at arts and crafts stores!) on a paper plate. Using a paper towel, I spread the paint out a little, pressed the crumpled saran wrap in the paint, stamped it once on the paper plate to make sure the paint wasn’t on there too thick, and finally, onto the nail. I stamped a few times per nail, but you can stamp as little or as much as you’d like. You may need to re-stamp the saran wrap into the paint a few times. After all the nails are done, I used a cotton swab and nail polish remover to get off all the paint on her skin. Finally, I put her top coat on, and finished them off with dry drops.Saranwrapnails

How cool do these look?!Saranwrapnails2

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Tomorrow!!

10 responses to “Saran Wrap Nail Art

  1. Beautiful! I’ve seen this before but haven’t had the chance to try it yet. Your sister is lucky to be your test subject! 🙂

  2. Pingback: DIY Basic Pedicure | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a comment