DIY T-Shirt Remodel II

If you guys liked my first shirt remodel, I think you’re going to like this one! I know I do! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s very similar actually…but I’d say this ones a bit easier, since there’s no elastic involved (of course, you can add it to the waist like the first if you wanted!). I got this done within a half hour! I chose not to wear a belt in the picture, so you could see what it looked like, but I think a belt looks awesome with it! Also, I’m wearing it with pants because it’s wintertime, but it looks SOOO cute as a dress as well!tshirtremodel1

Start off just like my other shirt remodel, by putting the large shirt on, and marking where your shoulders end. You could also just use a shirt in your size to lay over it and mark. Once that’s done, draw a line using chalk from the mark to the armpit. Cut it off, and then cut the excess fabric off the sleeve.tshirtremodel2

Now, pin the sleeve back on and put the shirt on. Don’t worry about the big hole at the armpit of the sleeve, because we sew that closed later! This part is hard to explain, so bare with me….Firstly, I made sure the sleeve was falling right, and aligned. Then, using the opposite hand, I pinched together the sleeve to where it fit me more snug. You don’t want this to be TIGHT, just snug. Hold it pinched and move your arm around. If it feel comfortable, hold it tight with the hand that’s in the sleeve, and pull your arm through. With your free hand now, make a chalk mark on both sides of the sleeve. (Does that make sense?? *TIP* This step would be MUCH easier if you have someone to do it for you!) Once you have that marked, you want to draw a line straight across to where the armpit will be. Pin and sew (start with a baste stitch if you’re unsure of the fit), the sleeve together. Try it on, and make sure it feels okay! (Check out the before and after shot–after is MUCH more flattering! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Finally, sew down the side of the shirt from the armpit, gradually going out towards the edge of the shirt. Even though the t-shirt didn’t have any seams on the sides, I sewed all the way to the bottom so there wasn’t half a seam that stopped in the middle of the shirt. Oh–and BTW–I didn’t do this all over again for the other sleeve, I simply just folded the shirt in half and marked where I sewed the other side…makes life a whole lot easier! (If you couldn’t follow any of the directions PLEASE let me know so I can try and clarify!! ๐Ÿ™‚ )tshirtremodel3

Now, personally, I LOVEEEE long sleeves. If you wanted to, you could make them shorter, leave them just like that, or try what I did, add some lace. I think this MADE the dress/shirt. I love, love, love the look of lace at the end of a sleeve!ย I started by pinning a piece to the outer sleeve, and closed the loop up once it was done.tshirtremodel4

Donโ€™t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what Iโ€™m working on, or whether or not Iโ€™ll post that day!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called โ€œYour Pictures!โ€, located right next to the โ€œAbout This Blog!โ€ link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Tomorrow!!

13 responses to “DIY T-Shirt Remodel II

  1. I love a bit of lace. I have a huge stock of old ric-rac braid and really want to use it to decorate something to wear. Its become so old fashioned but I’m sure there’s potential to create something wonderful. with it. Watch this space!!

    • Ooooh I loooove taking things that would normally be “old fashioned” or ugly and using it to make something awesome. I get laughs at first, but once people see the finished product it’s usually like “ooooh I love it!!”

  2. oh I love the lace on the sleeves! I made something like this for Halloween but want to make it wearable for everyday. I think lace details is the answer! Thanks for the great posts!

  3. This such a good tutorial oh my god. Its so hard to find 60s styled shift dresses that arent crazy expessive. But just get a cool patterned shirt and do this to it, it’ll be really groovy!
    I’ll defiantly be doing this soon.

Leave a Reply

