The Most Comfortable Skirt You’ll Ever Wear: A Tutorial

This skirt really is the most comfortable thing you’ll ever wear, and whats great about it is it’s soooo easy to make! There’s only two parts to it; the band, and the skirt. It will take you less than an hour to make, and you’ll want to make one in every color, because you’ll want to live in them all the time! It’s comfort all depends on the type of fabric you choose. I bought a yard of a soft, stretchy, light (but not too light) jersey knit.

Start by measuring the area on your hips you’d like the skirt to sit. (Notice the pup in the background lol)

 

For the band, you want to start by folding your fabric in half, then upwards about 4 inches (or less if you don’t want a wide band. Make sure the fabric stretches longwise, that way it can stretch going over your hips, while putting it on.

 

Measure and cut HALF (+ half an inch for sewing) the amount that you need all together. My waist was 32in, so I cut 16 1/2 in.  Then, open it up, fold upward and then in half, and then pin and sew it into a loop. This is your band, yay! Try it on, make sure it fits nicely. I also added a little elastic to the sides to make them ruched, but this step is totally optional. (Find out how to do that in my T-Shirt Remodel post!!)

 

Now, for the skirt part. Fold the rest of your fabric in half (stretchy part going horizontally) Find the center of both the fabric and band, and match them up. Mark from the edges of the band, down to the very end of the fabric.

 

Pin, cut, and sew the sides along the chalk mark, cutting any excess fabric off the sides.

 

Finally, sew them together!! I start by matching up the seam from the band to one of the seams on the skirt.

 

Try on your new skirt, and mark your length where you want it to come down to, then cut, and sew! I used the zig zag option on my machine, so I didn’t have to fold the edges up twice and sew. When I tried that the first time, it looked awkward. The zig zag stitch came out great, and draped nicely.

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

19 responses to “The Most Comfortable Skirt You’ll Ever Wear: A Tutorial

  1. I love that you craft AND sew! that does look so comfy and that’s also how a lot of maternity skirts are made. they’re the best! thanks for sharing how to make one! x

    • I try to do a little bit of everything!! 🙂 I always said if I could I would build a house….I just LOVE making anything from scratch! There’s nothing more rewarding than to say “I made this”… I’m a total junkie for it lol. And it’s funny, I’ve always been drawn to maternity clothes, I have a pile in my closet, they are so comfortable!! Lol

      • Yes I like a bit of everything too but I am still working on my “art box”, maybe I will post a picture of it haha I def have more fabrics and sewing things cuz of my mom. Really? That’s so funny! I still wear a lot of my maternity, I esp love the jeans but have recently worn them out- they’re full of holes! I’d like to sew more maternity dresses, being pregnant twice with a weird bump, it was hard to find stuff and be comfortable. I agree, I love saying, “I made this!” 🙂

  2. I love it! I was confused by one thing. I know you said you zig zag stitched instead of folding the hem up twice, but did you zig zag stich then hem it by folding it over once, or just leave the zig zag edge showing? Thanks!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I just left the zig zag, but I you could probably fold it up once, I didn’t even think of that! I would maybe try zig zagging and folding it up before cutting it to the length you want, that way if it doesn’t fall right, you could just cut it off and just zig zag, instead of ripping the seam. Hope that helped!

  3. Pingback: The Khaki Skirt - A Versatile Choice | Design Skirt.com·

  4. Hi, many thanks for all thos inspiring ideas! I definately need to try the skirt!! I’ll send you the link as soon as I’m finished!

    Best from Germany and I’m looking forward to your next ideas!
    Isabelle

  5. Do you have a guess on yardage it takes to make a skirt like this? I’m such a beginner sewer, I’m probably hiring a teenager to make it for me. 🙂

    • I think I used a yard and a half…you want enough for your waist and then to fan out towards the bottom. But you also need the band. Good luck!! 🙂

  6. Pingback: 33 Adorable DIY Clothes Tutorials·

  7. Looks so simple. I’m going to make this right now! A little more formal fitting and I’m adding tulle to the bottom all in dark teal for my ariel costume. It looks so comfy I can’t wait to make them for everyday life! Thanks for the simple tutorial!

Leave a comment