Vegan Zucchini Bread: A Recipe

I love zucchini bread. I love anything zucchini, actually. Remember my recent post with the zucchini pasta? Well a follower asked about some zucchini bread, and I remembered this recipe that I had found a while ago, that makes some deliciousss bread. It’s moist,fluffy,  flavorful, and hearty. I want to eventually play around with the flour, and incorporate some whole wheat, and see if I can cut down the sugar, as there is a lot used, but it’s so good, I don’t want to ruin it! I got the recipe from allrecipes.com, and I halved it, as I didn’t have enough zucchini for 2 loafs. I know people with gardens are getting loads of zucchini that they don’t know what to do with them all….well make this bread!! I like to make little loafs too, and freeze them for another day!

Vegan Zucchini Bread: (1 loaf)

  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons flax seeds (optional, but I used ground flax)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I didn’t use)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon arrowroot powder (optional, but I used it. Anyone know what it’s used for?? Because I have no clue!)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/4 cups shredded zucchini

 

I started by peeling and cutting the ends off of the zucchini. Next time I won’t bother peeling though. The skin gives little green specks throughout the bread making it really pretty. I have this awesome grater from Ikea that is perfect for something like this, so you don’t need to get your food processor dirty (because who likes having to clean that thing?).

 
I used 2 small zucchinis for my bread and it was perfect. There was a little left over even, so I gave it to the pup. Just remember, check your applesauce to make sure it’s still good before getting everything ready!!! Unlike I did, and then had to wait for the hubs to get home with some! But luckily, the grater has a lid, so I stuck my shredded zucchini in the fridge while I waited.

 

I got my wet ingredients together, then my dry, and mixed until just about incorporated, and then added my shredded zucchini in until combined.

 

I had an 8in x 5in pan, that I greased, and then floured, and then poured my mix into, making sure it was even.

 

I baked it for 70 minutes at 325F, and stuck a toothpick through the center to find it come out clean. I took it out of the oven, and let it rest for a good 10 minutes, then left it overnight on a cooling rack.

 

I ate half of it before remembering to take a picture! But at least I had that! 🙂

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

11 responses to “Vegan Zucchini Bread: A Recipe

  1. I LOOOOOOVE zucchini! (fun fact: in uk they call this courgettes) I like to add it to just about anything too and zucchini bread is awesome! your recipe is diff from mine so i will have to try yours out! thanks for the post! 🙂

  2. I’m making it tonight and it looks delicious!! I had found this recipe on allrecipes.com also and I was worried that it wouldn’t work without the flaxseed and arrowroot powder (what is this stuff anyways?!) but I’m glad it worked out for you! Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

