Coffee dough!

So a few days ago, I was flipping through a kids crafts book and came across a recipe for…coffee dough! I’d never heard of it before. I’d heard of salt dough of course, but never coffee. The directions were so easy, so I gave it a try today. It came out awesome! It looks like stone, or cement. So many ideas of what you could do with it!

 

 

Coffee dough:

1 part ground coffee

1 part salt (I used finely ground)

1 part flour

1 part water (put a little in at a time, until it gets to a dough consistency. I didn’t need to use all of mine)

(How easy is that? So easy to halve or double!)

 

Add all your dry ingredients together.

 

Here’s how ground up my coffee was. Not too fine, yet not too big.

 

Mix well.

 

Add your water in a little at a time, until it comes together to form a dough. You don’t want it to be sticky, but not dry. Check out the color of mine before it’s baked.

 

On wax paper, roll it out and use cookie cutters, or free form something, whatever you’d like! I used cookie cutters to make cute tags.

 

Use an offset spatula to peel it neatly off the wax paper.

 

I used a toothpick to make a small hole on the top of mine.

 

I wanted to try to stamp some words in my tags to see if it would show. I bought this collection from Michael’s, and using a coupon it only came to about $14!

 

Here it is after I stamped it…its kinda visible, but once it’s baked you can really see it 🙂

 

I also just played around with the extra dough I had and practiced with the stampings.

 

Here they are after being baked. It took about an hour (flipped them over after 30 minutes) at 200F in my toaster oven. But you can see the larger one didn’t fully dry near the letters. I guess next time I’ll keep it in longer. I tried putting paint in the LOVE heart to see if it would be more visible, but I actually like the way it looks without it. But check out the color change!

 

I used one to use on a gift I had wrapped. Looks cute, huh? I can also see doing kids (or yours!) hand prints like Hollywood’s Grauman’s Chinese Theater, right? Frame it, that would be totally cute!

Until tomorrow!!

12 responses to “Coffee dough!

  1. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  2. Pingback: For my “Tweetheart” «·

  3. Pingback: Dino Week: Dinosaur & Volcano Sensory Bin | Babes in Deutschland·

  4. Pingback: Dino Week: Dinosaur & Volcano Sensory Bin | Life Lesson Plans·

Leave a comment