Get your drink on!

I’m so excited about this post because these drinks are so darn good!!! Yesterday, I made some homemade ginger-ale (it couldn’t be easier! I’m telling you!) and I recreated a drink called Hibiscus Nectar that I got (multiple times, because it’s so good) in Hawaii on my honeymoon.

First, I’ll start with the Hibiscus Nectar. When I made it the first time, I put it on Pinterest and it was a big hit, but I had to write how to make it in the little tiny caption box, so I figured I’d get it up here so people can see the process. Personally, I’m a visual learner ;). This recipe makes enough for one, and keep in mind, this is how I like it, you might like more ginger, or more sweetener, or whatever. But this drink is heaven to me!

 

 

Hibiscus Ginger Nectar:

1 cup water over 1 hibiscus tea bag (or 2 teaspoons loose hibiscus petals)

2 tablespoons honey

1 1/2 teaspoons fresh ginger juice

2 1/2 teaspoons fresh lime juice

Ice

Rum (I don’t usually put it in, and it’s not in the original, but I added it yesterday and it was gooood ;))

I picked up some loose hibiscus petals from a local health store, but you can also use tea bags. Look at this gorgeous color, you can just imagine what the tea will look like!

 

I have a tea steeper cup from Teavana (they don’t have the one I have, but it’s a little something like this) I just drop the tea leaves in and fill it with boiling water.

 

Let it steep for a few minutes, and then drain your water. I poured it right over the honey, that way it melts into the tea. You can’t mix honey in once it’s over ice!

 

Look at that beautiful color!!! I can’t get enough of it! Does it not look like a sunset?!

 

Mix your honey into the tea until it’s completely incorporated. Once that’s done, set it aside and make your ginger juice. Because it’s just a little amount, I do it by hand, but if I needed to make a lot, I’d do it in a juicer. A lot of people don’t know how to work with ginger. It’s so easy! You don’t need to use a knife or a peeler to get the skin off. You just need a spoon. Yup, a spoon! It scrapes off like nothing!

 

Then, I grated the ginger knobs into my nut milk bag, remember it from my almond milk post? This thing comes in handy, I tell ya!

 

Then, squeeze the bag to get all the juice out.

 

Mix your ginger juice and lime juice in with your tea mixture, and pour over ice!

 

And you’re all set! (Can you tell I just LOVE the color!?!)

 

Okay, now onto the ginger ale! I got the recipe from the food network.

Ginger Ale:
Makes 2 liters

1 1/2 ounces finely grated fresh ginger
6 ounces sugar
7 1/2 cups filtered water
1/8 teaspoon active dry yeast

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

You want to do the same thing as the Hibiscus Ginger Nectar to get your ginger juice. Add it to your sugar and 1/2 cup of the water in a small pot. It’ll look a little something like this…

 

You want to cook it over medium heat, whisking it occasionally just until the sugar has melted. This is what it looked liked after a few minutes, so you can see by tilting the pot that the sugar has started to melt.

 

While you wait….a pooped little puppy…

 

And here it is after almost 10 minutes. You can see it’s all melted.

 

 

Once it’s melted, turn off your heat and let it steep for an hour. When it’s done steeping, pour it into a strainer and squeeze as much of the liquid out as you can. You can always save the candied ginger for…..mango ginger ice pops?? Anyone??? Yes please….

I doubled the recipe, so I put my ginger syrup along with the rest of the water and lemon juice in a gallon jug. This stuff goes fast, especially the first time that you make it and everyone’s super impressed and wants to try it!

Add your yeast, which will give it the carbonation, and give it a good shake.

 

Leave it out at room temperature for 48 hours, and then stick in the fridge! Easy right?! And soooo good! Next time I want to try subbing the sugar out with agave.

 

Okay, now to end this post with some pretty Hawaii sunset pictures because my Hibiscus Ginger Nectar makes me want to be there 🙂

Ahhhh, Hawaii…how I miss you!

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Get your drink on!

  1. I loveeeeee reading your blog!! I think I might try and make the the gingerale right before my mom comes down to visit in July!

      • I know- and ginger ale along with cream soda are the only two sodas I will occasionally drink. My mom would LOVE it! Maybe I’ll make a batch this week to test it out…and I might use the agave instead of the sugar too.

      • Nice! Tell me how it goes! I want to see if there’s a recipe for cream soda, I was just talking about that yesterday! I’d looove to make cream soda and root beer. I get cravings for root beer floats all the time!

Leave a Reply

