Stamping Glass: A Tutorial

So, as you may know, I’m all about stamping! Well, today I was at the Dollar Tree and found a round glass cutting board. Right before this, I had bought a really big foam paisley stamp (on clearance, score!). So my creative brain started thinking! I couldn’t wait to get home and try stamping it with paint! So, I got home, got out some plain ol’ acrylic paint, and tried it out! It came out awesome!! And it only took about 5 MINUTES! 🙂 I can’t wait to try more glass stamping! Just imagine what you could do…personalize plates, mugs, platters, etc…the ideas are endless!

Here’s the cutting board, and my (adorable) stamp.

I started my brushing acrylic paint (but you could use glass paint) onto my foam stamp.

Then, before it dried, I pressed it against the glass (from underneath). The good thing about being on glass is you can check on the other side if the paint was distributed evenly 🙂

If the paint bled anywhere, wait until it’s a bit dried and you can just scratch the excess off with a toothpick.

Because I used acrylic paint, I brushed a few layers of Mod Podge over it that way it wouldn’t scratch off. I’m not going to use it as a cutting board as glass cutting boards freak me out, but instead as a candle dish 🙂

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

8 responses to “Stamping Glass: A Tutorial

  1. We have sheets of glass for picture frames, it might be cool to stamp a “picture” and frame it. Pretty paper, do something dimensional LOL

    • Thank you! And oh yeah, save yourself a lot of time and try the stamping before trying to hand paint! What’s great about this is before it sets (or before you put it in the oven, depending on your paints directions) you could always scratch it off and try again!

Leave a comment