Fabric Flower: A Tutorial

Remember my Handmade Bag post? Well, I promised a tutorial for fabric flowers and now you’re going to get one! πŸ™‚ I’ve seen so many tutorials for these, but I wasn’t loving them. So what I did was combine a few and came up with one I liked. It’s super simple, the only annoying part is cutting the fabric but you could easily do this while watching TV or something to make it go by faster πŸ˜‰

I made a paper flower template so they would come out the same size. To make it a little easier, I fold the fabric and paper in half so I don’t have to cut as much. Now, these don’t have to be perfect, mine definitely aren’t, but you can’t tell once they’re folded and glued down and ruffled, but it’s important to get them the same size so they fit together. You want to cut 8 flowers all together. (REALLY apologize for the terrible pictures, I don’t know how I didn’t realize they were this bad as I was taking them! But I certainly didn’t feel like doing that all over again once I finished!)

 

Next, you want to cut out a little circle out of a stiff felt.

 

Now, you want to fold the flower in half and then in half again. Glue (I used a hot glue gun because it’s fast) them down with the points in the center. They’re going to be annoying and unfolding, so you want to glue inside the fold to keep them down. Once the first layer is done, you’re going to go in between them with the second layer.

Then, I glue the middles together so it fluffs up and you can’t see the center, where they were all glued down.

 

There’s SOOO many things you can do with these, brooches, belts, headbands, jewelry, or like what I did…made it a hair pin!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

 

22 responses to “Fabric Flower: A Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Fabric flowers « CrescentMelissa·

  2. Hello! Your tutorials are really great!! I’m writing you from Brazil, i’m starting a blog also about crafts, I just love these things. It is in portuguese, but if you’d like to check it out…www.aflordefeltro.blogspot.com.br (The Felt Flower, translated) Thanks for sharing your tutorials πŸ™‚

    • Aww thanks so much Patricia! I just checked it out, loving the pictures, wish I could read it! Is there a way to translate your blog? I know there are some blogs that have a button to translate. Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

