Healthy Avocado Brownies

Healthy. Avocado. Brownies. Those don’t usually go together….I know. But these seriously are awesome, fudgy, brownies! After years of crappy vegan brownies, I’m so happy to say I finally have a go-to brownie recipe. They have avocado in them (swear you don’t taste it!) and the option of two amounts of sugar. Sometimes if you know you’ll be adding some ice cream to these brownies, or if you’ve just had too much sugar throughout the day, you can use the smaller amount. while other times….you’ve got an extra sweet tooth and just need it! Honestly…since I’ve lowered the sugar, I don’t find the need to make them with the full cup. But see what you like!

(I apologize for the crappy iPhone pics….I’m just glad I’m getting a post in at all!)brownies1

 

Avocado Brownies
1 avocado (mashed or blended with other liquids)
1/4 cup coconut oil (or any other non-flavored oil)
1 cup sugar (or 3/4)
1/4 cup yogurt (I’ve used blended silken tofu with great results!)
2 t vanilla extract
1/4 cup milk + 1 t apple cider vinegar (use non-dairy milk for vegan)
1/2 t baking soda
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 t salt
1/2 cup whole wheat flour

Preheat your oven to 350F. I use a silicone pan, but if metal, grease and flour an 8×8 pan. Mix wet ingredients, mix dry ingredients. Stir together (don’t over stir!), spread evenly in your pan, and bake for 10 minutes. Let cool for at least 30 minutes and cut.

brownies2

2 responses to “Healthy Avocado Brownies

  1. oh gosh, i came across your modge podge plates and then found myself here — avocado brownies and creative tableware? both awesome ideas that i want to try:)

Leave a Reply

