DIY Rose Beads

rosebeads

I’ve waited over a year to post this blog! I made these beads from the flowers in my cousins wedding last April! I couldn’t believe it, but when I opened the box they were in, they still smelled like roses. It takes a little bit of patience to make these beads, but in my opinion, totally worth it. What a keepsake! I gave them to my cousin for her anniversary and she loved them! I didn’t get any pictures of the process, other than the shaping of them, but everything aside from that was pretty easy.

1. I picked the most fragrant flowers (they don’t have to be roses!). Her roses were purple, but once the “clay” dries, they become black. No, maybe not the prettiest beads, but in my opinion, it’s more about the sentimental value of them. And besides, you can add other beads to make your jewelry piece prettier!

2. Put the petals in a blender, and add enough water to get it going. You want it to be very smooth!

3.Cook on the stove over low-medium heat, don’t boil, otherwise the scent will dissipate, and that’s half the fun of these beads! You can add rose oils after this step to help with the scent, but I felt like that was cheating haha. I wanted to scent of these roses. Cook until most of the water has evaporated and the mixture has become similar to a clay texture.

4. Once the “clay” is cool enough to handle, mold it into beads! While drying, they tend to shrink a lot, so make sure you make them bigger than what you want the end results to look like. I used a small, plastic stirrer straw to hold them, and that worked perfectly.rosebeads2

5. Let the beads dry like this for a few days or until dry enough to handle, and then take them off the straw (or whatever you decide to use) to allow the insides to dry. I let mine dry for days and then stored them in a box with some dried rose petals (from her wedding) to retain that beautiful scent!

6. Make a jewelry piece! I strung the beads and made a bracelet, but the beads CAN NOT get wet, so please know, or tell the person you’re making these for, that these shouldn’t be submerged in liquid of any kind. I’m sure you could put some sort of glaze over them but that would take the scent away, which I loved about them!

 

 

 

2 responses to “DIY Rose Beads

  1. However did you come up with this?! I would have never thought cooking flower petals would make a clay! another fun idea: add onto a bunting and hang around a pic frame! I’m obsessed with buntings lol this was great, I’m going to tell the hubs to buy me some roses lol

    • Why, Pinterest of course! lol but the site I looked it up on made it seem a lot harder than it was….it was super easy! I love your bunting idea! So cure! Love all your buntings!!

Leave a Reply

