What I ended up using from my hospital bag

hospitalbag

So, you may remember my post on what I had packed in my hospital bag, I’m now going to let you in on what I ended up using! Honestly, like I thought, I used most of it. I keep having people say to me…”Really? Why would you need all of that?” Name something other than the champagne, which obviously wasn’t necessary, but for fun, that’s that out of this world. I used almost everything but the shower stuff I had packed! I ended up not taking a shower because after pushing a baby out, I didn’t feel like standing much the first two days! lol I took one the day I got home, after I felt a lot better. Aside from that, the only other things I didn’t use were the disposable nursing pads (which took up absolutely no room in my bag), and the granny panties (which luckily I didn’t even end up buying in time since he came a little early). I used the Depends leaving the hospital and at home until I was able to just use a plain pad. I also didn’t bring a blanket and pillow for daddy, since they provided both, and the envelopes for the announcements to write out addresses.

As you can see in the pictures of when I was in labor, I didn’t get the chance to make my own hospital gown. I’m actually glad I didn’t! Sure, it would have been cute for pictures, but that thing got pretty gross with my water breaking every so often, and I took it off and put my pj’s on after I had him anyway.

babybag

I didn’t however, use pretty much anything from Landon’s diaper bag! I didn’t care what they washed him in after, I was just so excited he was here….I let them use the diapers they had, because I just didn’t care…I was so excited he was here!!! Now that we’re home, I’m using all my stuff. We’re using plain wet paper towels for diaper changes until his umbilical cord comes off and we can give him regular baths, so no need for the wet wipes, and they provided clothes for him. So, basically I could have just kept his bag at home!

 

So, like I said, while the list looks like a lot of stuff, it really wasn’t! And while I didn’t use everything, I brought it all, and there was plenty of room for it in my bag (which wasn’t that big)!

Hope this helps any momma’s-to-be out there!

4 responses to “What I ended up using from my hospital bag

  1. great follow up post! I remember thinking and wondering if you’d be able to use all of it too. πŸ™‚ You are right about one thing, not wanting to stand and really not caring what they are wearing once they come out! Congrats on your new baby.

    • Yeah, you don’t really care about much when they come out!! lol Just that they’re healthy and here! πŸ™‚ thanks!!

  2. Very helpful, and good to know! I’m not due until May but I’m a first time mommy and appreciate advice that’s /actually/ helpful! Congratulations, by the way! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! You too! πŸ™‚ Of course every hospital is different, so you can always ask if they have anything you were planning to pack so you don’t have to (ie:baby clothes/diapers and all that!)

Leave a Reply

