Happy Birthday to Landon Presley!!!!!

Landon Presley

11/26/2013

9:25PM

6lbs 10oz

19 1/2 in long

perfect.

My baby boy is here!!! A bit early (he was due today!), but both momma and baby are doing great! I can’t even describe the love I feel for this little boy that’s been swimming around in me for 9 months, and this little boy who my husband and I waited so long for and worked so hard to make!

It all started at 5:15AM last Tuesday morning, when I woke up to my water breaking. I got up, went to the bathroom, hung out just to make sure that it was definitely my water and not me peeing in my pants! Sure enough, it was! I woke up my husband to let him know what happened and that I was going to take a shower and get ready. He called the hospital, since my doctors office wasn’t open, and they told us to come in. As I already knew, my water had broken and I was admitted!! I was soooo excited and a bit nervous! I was having my baby sometime within the next 24 hours!!!!

image

I hung out for a few hours and waited for contractions to start…..and waited, waited, and waited. Didn’t feel a thing, though they were 2-4 minutes apart (sounds like an awesome thing, but not so much)! The doctor wanted me to start Pitocin, but I asked if I could walk around for a while to see if things would happen naturally.

image

So, I walked……and walked, and walked, did some squats, and walked some more for about 3 hours. Nothing. Grr! Everything I had heard about Pitocin scared the crap out of me! Supposedly once you go on it, you feel nothing and then the next minute BAM! paaaaaaain! I have a pretty high tolerance for pain (remember how I made this little guy?!), so I thought I could handle the contractions if they built up slowly, but I didn’t know how I’d deal with them coming so intense and so fast. I was so nervous about it, but I also knew it was needed to be done and would help me see my little guy sooner.image

LUCKILY, the pitocin did NOT work for me like it had for the people I talked to. The contractions DID built up nice and slowly. That doesn’t mean by the end, they didn’t hurt like a mother F%&*@$!!!! I told my doctor that I wanted to try and go without meds, or an epidural, but if I was in enough pain, I’d ask for it. Well…I was doing pretty good for a while, though they were super intense, but they just got so bad that I said if I was only at 5cm, I was getting this stuff called Nubaine, that they said would just “take the edge off” and help me get some rest. They checked me, and tell me I’m at 4cm………FOUR CM!!!! I told them I needed the Nubaine, so they gave itΒ  to me shortly after. It did help a bit. I was able to close my eyes and get some rest, though I DID still feel the contractions. That lasted for about oh…not long enough. I could feel the med leaving my body because the next contraction I had was AWFULLLLLL! I decided then, that I wanted the epidural. They checked me again, and I was at 8cm. I would have cried thinking I wouldn’t be able to get it, but they said I could, just a small dosage. I didn’t care! I just needed something!

Shortly after they gave me the epidural I felt sooo much better. I was still able to feel the contractions, they just weren’t as bad. My mom and sister came in and we were talking when all of a sudden I said they needed to go get Keith and the doctor because I felt like I needed to start pushing. Sure enough, when they checked me, I was fully dilated!! Yipee!!! I was sooo excited! I could finally start pushing!

The pushing part didn’t hurt, but my gooooodness I felt like it was impossible!! I felt like I couldn’t do it!! It took an hour, but I did! πŸ™‚ And when my little guy came out and was put on my chest I just started crying!! I couldn’t stop! It felt like it was never going to happen, and here he was, this perfect little guy that I waited so long to meet! I kissed his little fingers, and then they had to take him off to check some stuff out. I found out later that his umbilical cord was wrapped around his little neck 😦 😦 😦 , and that he had a slight fever, but he’s a fighter and it went away on it’s own! Once he was all good, they brought him back to me and I just stared at him….this perfect little baby!! I couldn’t believe it (I honestly still don’t!)

image

And to keep it real….a lovely shot of me after he was born! My face (especially eyes!!!) were soooo swollen! I think if I pushed for any longer my eyes would have popped out of their sockets! LOLimage

But all worth it to hold this perfect little guy!image

Proud daddy!image

Auntie Ambi so in love!image

A little (non-alcoholic) champagne celebration!image

Happiest momma in the world ❀ ❀ ❀image

The next day, we got some professional pictures taken (even though we were getting more the following week! Obsessed with our baby much? Yeaaah πŸ™‚ )imageimageimageimageimage

So in love ❀

34 responses to “Happy Birthday to Landon Presley!!!!!

  1. its sounds like you had a short labor! it was similar with ethan, my first. my water broke and no contractions for hours. once they started- BAM! i thought he was coming now! nope. dilated at only 1. i asked for a c-section. they said no. by the time he was born 10 hours later i had gone through 2 tanks of gas&air! i love labor stories πŸ™‚ and yes more pictures! who doesn’t ogle over adorable babies? xx

    • Omg I would have cried if they told me I was at 1cm and in that much pain!! I was actually told I was 1cm at my last dr appointment before I went into labor (I think 2 or 3 days before) and I was sooo surprised! I hadn’t felt anything I didn’t even get Braxton hicks! But yeah, I was expecting to be in labor for a lot longer than that so it was nice it was the same day πŸ™‚ I waited long enough for him!! πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations to all of you! Your son is so beautiful, and you look fantastic too. Just wonderful news – I’m so excited for you. Wishing all of you everything of the very best, well done Momma! x

  3. Wow, I have no words…..you are blessed in so many ways…..you are. Creative, beautiful, funny, a brilliant writer, a wonderful wife, daughter, sister, niece, cousin and now a perfect baby maker…..and you are going te b a great momma. Holland is proud of you Nikki.

  4. Congrats!! I am going through what you went through and I hope I have the same outcome!! What hope your story gives me!!

    • Ohhhh good luck good luck!! And please, feel free to email me if you have any questions or if you want to talk πŸ™‚

  5. Look at all the hair he has! He is beautiful. Congratulations mama! This makes me so excited to bring our sweet little girl here in the next week or two. I’m really nervous, but I can’t wait!

    • He’s a furry little monster! He’s got hair all over! Haha it’s so cute πŸ™‚ you’ll do great! Don’t be nervous for the labor and delivery….everyone’s different! Just take it step by step πŸ™‚ And though I’m sure you’ve heard it before….the pain literally vanishes the second you see them! So exciting good luck!! πŸ™‚

  6. Aww congratulations to you 3! He’s so adorable & I love the professional shots too! I first read about your pregnancy struggles when we had just started trying, I’m now 4 months pregnant and totally obsessed with labour stories! Lol! So I’ll definitely keep reading to see how you’re getting on! So happy for you! Beth xx

  7. So happy for you! I’m due on Sunday, and I can only hope to have an experience like you. Congratulations; he is perfect!

    • Thank you! And good luck to you!! Everyone’s different, maybe you’ll have an even faster l&d πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations! Just had my first little boy in October, words can’t describe how wonderful it is! But I have to ask: does your husband’s shirt say “I did this to you”? If so that is awesome hahaha

    • Thank you and congrats to you as well! πŸ™‚ you are right…no words can describe! Yes that’s what my husbands shirt says haha…I got it for him on Father’s Day, I thought it would be hilarious to wear for the labor and delivery πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

