DIY Sand Jewelry

I had an idea the other day, tried it out, and it worked awesome!! The best part is…it was SO easy! The hardest part is to wait for it to dry πŸ™‚

I used sand from Hawaii (I’ve mentioned it so many times, as I took SO much from the beach that day and had SO much left over!) and some Mod Podge. It totally doesn’t matter what kind you use, I just happened to have the satin one on hand, so used that. The heart bezel was purchased from Hobby Lobby, and they have lots of other shapes!sandnecklace1

I simply mixed the sand and Mod Podge together and pressed it into the bezel.sandnecklace2

The glue dried clear, leaving just the sand! I love the way it came out and can’t wait to wear it to the beach this year! Sadly, it won’t be a Hawaiian beach, but I’ll take whatever beach I can get!! πŸ™‚sandnecklace3

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

Be sure to check out my BRAND NEW Etsy store!! I only have a few items as of now, but it’s growing! :)

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called β€œYour Pictures!”, located right next to the β€œAbout This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

17 responses to “DIY Sand Jewelry

    • Hmm…..dirt jewelry…doesn’t have the same *ring* to it lol….gather some sand if you ever go on vacation! It makes a great keepsake πŸ™‚

  1. I can’t wait to do this when I get home from my Southeast asia trip! Great idea!!!! Congrats on the growth of your etsy store. I’ll stop by and hopefully, I can buy something.

      • Totally! I won’t be going until June. I have to figure out a way to keep the sand with me for 6 weeks. I’m not organized when it comes to extended backpacking type trips. I’m sure I’ll probably pop a hole in the plastic bag or misplace my sand. SMH. LOL

    • Haha well luckily you don’t need too much if you’re doing a little bezel like mine, so you could even keep it in your wallet or something that you won’t forget!

  2. I love love love this!
    I did something similar a few weeks ago and still haven’t gotten it up! I used something that I never thought of until some fell on the table πŸ™‚ I will get it up in the next week or so!

  3. I’ve just got back from the beach but didn’t collect any sand. Such a shame as I would have loved to make this. Next time.

  4. wow, what a fab idea – love it! I’m off to Hawaii later this year – I am *so* doing this! Must remember to take some little glass jars to fill with sand. Thanks for the great post πŸ™‚

    • I’m coming back!! πŸ™‚ had a super busy past few months, but now all is (kinda) back to normal and I can’t wait to start posting again!

      • I can’t wait either! πŸ˜‰
        I just found out for your blog, but I immediately became addicted πŸ™‚

  5. i saw black sand jewelry while i was on the big island in july…he made his with clay for pottery. He had little balls he would just roll into shape and let dry. Will this mod podge do the same thing? I brought a little black sand with me, but I don’t do pottery.

    • It could! I pressed it into something though so I don’t know how it would hold up if you were trying to roll it. It certainly gets hard enough though.

Leave a Reply

