DIY Ribbon Flowers

I’m in the process of making a flower girl dress for the daughter of my cousin who’s getting married this April (can’t wait for the wedding!!!! :) ) and it involves some fabric flowers. I’ve been playing around with different styled ribbon flowers, and fell in love with one that I made this morning. This specific one won’t be going on the dress, but something similar. The best thing about these ribbon flowers are they could notttt get any easier. Literally, all you do is sew stitches across one side, gather it to a circle, and then sew the ends together. I like to add some felt to the back when I’m hot gluing it to something, but it’s optional. Add a button, bead, pendant, etc. to the center, and you’re all done! I think this specific ribbon makes a beautiful flower, as it’s got a kind of crepe paper look to it that gathers nicely. I purchased it from Michaels (it’s part of the Celebrate It 360 collection), and I’m in love with it! I don’t know if it comes in other colors, but I got the ivory one, as the dress is ivory. There’s so many things you can do with these flowers, the possibilities are endless!!ribbonflower1(2)

You can either sew, or glue your flower to whatever it is you like!ribbonflower2

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

Be sure to check out my BRAND NEW Etsy store!! I only have a few items as of now, but it’s growing! :)

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Tomorrow!!

5 responses to “DIY Ribbon Flowers

  1. Awesome DIY! Could these also be made out of a pretty homespun fabric or even a wide lace perhaps? I shall try it perhaps and see. Pinned, Tumbled, Tweeted, and Facebooked…just awesome! This is sooo easy! And this is a great wedding idea instead of using real flowers, which wilt, these can be kept forever. A great memento from a wedding or even another event that calls for flowers perhaps?

    • Thank you so much! I’m sure you could make them from either homespun fabric or wide lace, you would probably just need to stitch a longer section 🙂

  2. I love these and can’t wait to try making them, but what size is the fabric you use? Is it round, square or rectangle?

Leave a Reply

