Mini Hand Held Fruit Tarts

So this morning (into the afternoon), I made a bunch of breakfast foods to be frozen for on-the-go mornings. My list consisted of pancake mix, pancake muffins with various toppings, and these fruits tarts. I often find myself skipping breakfast because there’s nothing readily available, and I have to be out the door 2 minutes ago. I’ve started making foods that can be thawed out during the night and grabbed on the way out. The other day, I made bagels, and breakfast cookies. It’s really time consuming, but once it’s all done, it’s sooo helpful! As you knowww, breakfast is the most important meal of the day 😉 . These guys are deelish, and perfect for an on-the-go breakfast! All you need is your favorite pie dough recipe (my fav. recipe to follow), and some fruit spread. I even made a Nutella and strawberry one for my husband!

Roll your dough out thin in between two pieces of wax paper, and cut into rectangles. I used a piece of wax paper as a guide to cut the same sizes. Spread your jam out, leaving room for pressing the dough together at the ends. Using a fork, close the edges up along all the sides. Once I finished each one, I’d put them in the fridge so they didn’t get too soft while making the other ones. When they were all done, I put them on a parchment paper lined pan, brushed them with some almond milk, and sprinkled course sugar on top. Bake them in the oven at 350F for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges.fruittarts1

Vegan Pie Crust: Makes 6 mini fruit tarts

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

ice water

3/4 coconut oil (chilled)

Mix flour and salt together. Cut in coconut oil, and add ice water one tablespoon at a time until a dough forms.

If making it in a food processor (my favorite way), mix flour together, add small pieces of coconut oil in and pulse processor until combined. Add ice water one tablespoon at a time until a dough forms.

Place dough on a piece of saran wrap, flatten into a disk, and stick in the fridge until stiff.

fruittarts2

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

Be sure to check out my BRAND NEW Etsy store!! I only have a few items as of now, but it’s growing! :)

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Tomorrow!!

11 responses to “Mini Hand Held Fruit Tarts

  1. Great minds think alike, I really wanted to make something like vegan pop-tart as some friends got some from this american produce store here in England, you beat me to it though! I am totes gonna have to make these!

  2. Hi there,

    When you say 3/4 coconut oil, do you mean 3/4 cup or tbl?
    Thank you so much, I love your page!

    Katia Kaiser
    +1 260 444 7132

    • It’s the same here! My husband is out the door wayyy before I wake up, so if there’s no food for him to grab on the way out, it’s either no breakfast, or paying for one…which can get costly after a while! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  3. This is probably a stupid question but I’ve never baked a pie before so please don’t think I’m being silly.
    Do you freeze them when they are still raw then bring them out the night before, leave them to thaw then bake in the morning. Or do you bake them, leave them to cool, then freeze them and then when required thaw them and heat ’em up?

    • Not stupid at all! I baked them, then cooled them, and froze them so they were defrosted and ready to eat in the morning. You could also pop them in the toaster oven to warm the up before you eat (after being defrosted)!

Leave a Reply

