Wedding Song Lyrics on a Mat Board

Remember my Chalkboard Platter post? Well for those same friend’s anniversary, I gave them a framed picture from their wedding with lyrics to the song the bride walked down the aisle to.  The song is called First Day of my Life by Bright Eyes.  It’s the cutest song with the sweetest lyrics (although she walked to an instrumental version of it). Originally, I thought about doing all of the lyrics, because I’d seen that on Pinterest, but at the same time, I felt as though all that writing might take away from the picture. Instead, I decided to take the first line to the song “this is the first day of my life” and write it in simple writing on the top. I don’t know about you, but I’ve always felt less is more. Doing it this way, lets the picture still grab people’s attention, and the lyrics help share the story of their day.

I purchased a plain white mat board from Michaels for the size picture I had. This mat was specific for writing on, and came with a gel pen, however I didn’t use the pen for this project. Because I was writing just the one line, I wanted it to stand out, so I bought a brown scrapbooking marker (also from Michaels). I wrote the lyrics out on a piece of paper (actually–traced it from my computer because I have awful handwriting), and taped it to the mat board. I went over the letters with a woodstick (actually meant for nails, but I use them for craft projects all the time), to make a slight indent in the board. I  then, VERY CAREFULLY, peeled the tape away (make sure it’s not a super sticky tape!!!). All that’s left is to go over the indentations with the marker, and let it dry completely before putting it into the frame.beccadanframe1

I LOVE the way it came out! And so did they 🙂Beccadanframe

Just a reminder, I’m on Facebook!! Follow me if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until Tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Wedding Song Lyrics on a Mat Board

Leave a Reply

