Tulip Shimmer Holiday Campaign: DIY Wine Gift Bags

winebags6

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving! 🙂 I can not be more excited for this post today!! I am involved in the Tulip Shimmer Holiday Campaign!! My very first, ever! Let me tell you, the second that box came in the door, I opened it and I started working on this project. When I was selected for this campaign, I could not stop thinking of all the things I wanted to make using these awesome products, and I think this was the perfect one to show how all the goodies I received worked. I wasn’t required to use all the products they had sent, but I wanted to use as much as possible, and I have to say, I did pretty well! I ended up using all but 1 (which will definitely get used eventually! 🙂 )

Here are all the goodies I received from ILoveToCreate.com!

For a closer look at all the products, I’ve included links for you from ILoveToCreate.com to check out!

Also, check them out here:

Web: http://www.ilovetocreate.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lovetocreate
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ilovetocreate
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/ilovetocreate/

Fun, huh?! I know!! We sell all this stuff at Michaels, and I’ve always wanted to try them, so I was so excited to receive them!

I didn’t want to make something obvious, so I thought around for a while, and then it came to me. Wine gift bags! It’s really simple — which I love posting for my followers — and there’s so much you can do with them! I cut my fabric (I used a light jersey knit) 17in x 7in, but you may want to measure the bottle of wine you plan on putting in it. I decorated all my bags prior to sewing, but the sewing part couldn’t be easier! I simply sewed the long sides first, and then rolled the top in and sewed. By the way — and I was really excited about this — my sewing machine had NO problems going over the transfer sheets, and Lord knows the last time I changed my needle!

I figured I’d show you all how I did each bag, since I used different products on each of them, and different methods! For the candy cane looking wine bag, I used my paper cutter to cut the strips. It worked perfectly! None of them got frayed, or stuck in the blade, so this made it a lot easier than to cut them all out with scissors (which of course you could do if you don’t have a paper cutter!). These shimmer transfer sheets were so much fun! To measure the distance between each red stripe, I used a strip of cardstock, and then removed it once I placed the strip down. The directions state to put a piece of fabric over the project, when ironing, so I used a bandana. I carefully placed the iron down just to set the stripes in place, and then I went and cut the ends off the side. Once I finished them all, I went over them with the iron for the full amount of time they suggest (40 seconds). After I sewed it, I added some red rhinestones using the cordless heat tool (which I love!!!). It was super fast at heating up, and the gems held on really strong to the fabric!

Onto bag #2!! I used the silver glitter spray paint, and fell in love!! Honestly, I’ve never been a huge sparkly glitter person. But I’ve come to realize, that I LOVE sparkles when used as a detail, rather than the main focus of something. (I’m sorry haters– I’ve just never been a girly girl!) This glitter spray paint came out gorgeous!! It was so subtle, and too perfect for this project, because it looked like glistening snow. And what’s even better, it doesn’t shed! My sister wiped her hand on it, and nothing came off. So, after I let the spray dry, I used my snowflake puncher to cut out some pretty blue snowflakes. I found that (at least with this intricate puncher) I needed to back the transfer sheet with paper to make it go through. I tried without the paper at first, and the transfer sheet got stuck in it and ripped. This could be just because I’ve used this puncher for other projects, and it’s become dull, but as soon as I backed it with the paper, it worked like a charm. AND I got some paper snowflakes to use for something else, and a snowflake stencil for bag #3!  So nothing went to waste 🙂

Last but not least, bag #3!! I used another transfer sheet, but this time, the metallic ones I received. When I saw the silver one, I knew I wanted to make a snowflake with it! For these transfer sheets, the best way to cut them, is with plain ol’ scissors (or a die cut machine if you have one!). Using the scrap paper from bag #2, I traced around the snowflake (on the BACK of the transfer sheet), and ironed it on the same as I did with the other bags. Then, I used my handy dandy heat tool to iron on the green rhinestones. To make the perfect circle, I used a clear lid so I could see that the snowflake was centered, and began by putting the stones on opposite sides of each other, until the circle was full. I was so anxious to take the plastic lid off to see how awesome it looked, and I couldn’t have been happier with the outcome!

Now, this was a booboo on my part, (but also got me to incorporate another product into this bag!) I ironed the first snowflake too long and pressed down too hard, causing the sheet to shrivel up a little. Not enough to where it looked bad, but it shrunk enough just to show the sharpie marks from when I traced them. I used my noggin, and decided to outline them with the dimensional glitter paint. I was like a kid on Christmas morning when I woke up the next day and saw how awesome it looked once dried! I wasn’t sure how it would come out, as the paint was so cloudy when wet, but it came out crystal clear, and all you saw were sparkles, sparkles, sparkles!!! It was like the sharpie fiasco was meant to happen so that I could do that to make it even better!

So now to finish them all off, I just wanted to make some tags (as I WILL be giving them as gifts this Christmas!), so I made some out of a cereal box. I’m all about reusing and recycling! I covered them with some pretty paper that matched, and using the fabric glue and sparkles they sent, I glitzed up the edge of the tags. Like I said, I love, love sparkles when used in a little detail kind of way, and I think this was perfect! I wanted to see how to fabric glue held up on paper, and no complaints here! It went on fine 🙂

Now, I know this was like, the longest post ever (I was just TOO excited about all this to do something boring!!!), but I wanted to post one more picture of  bag #3, because it was just way too cool! While I was taking pictures of the final product, the metallic snowflake was reflecting my robe, and it just looked awesome!!

Am I right?!

Well, that’s it for this post, but I hope you enjoyed, and I hope you’re as excited about these products as I am, because they’re truly awesome.

Disclaimer: I wrote this post as part of a paid campaign with ILoveToCreate.com and Blueprint Social. The opinions in this post are all mine! 🙂

Until tomorrow!

15 responses to “Tulip Shimmer Holiday Campaign: DIY Wine Gift Bags

  1. I love the blue snowflakes! The possibilities are endless, I am thinking about an apron, guest bathroom towels, even some nice napkins for the holidays . . . grrrr. . . now I have to shop!

    • Yes, yes, and yes! There really are endless possibilities! I made Roscoe a shirt with a turkey using one of the shimmer sheets hahah everyone loved it!

  2. Pingback: DIY Grapevine Wreath | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: More DIY Christmas Gifts | Diva Entertains Blog·

  4. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

