Snowflake Wall Art

I know, Thanksgiving hasn’t even happened yet, and here I am posting a wintery/Christmas-y craft. TRUST ME….I would NEVER skip over Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday ever. Don’t you remember I had Half Thanksgiving this year? I’m posting this, because in the DIY world, you need these ideas early, so you can get them done BY the holidays!! And so, it begins! I have lots of great ideas for this holiday season that I’ll be posting for you guys! I think this one is easy and adorable to start off with ๐Ÿ™‚

I purchased the snowflake puncher from Michaels (used a coupon!!) and used plain white cardstock paper I had lying around. Originally I wanted to use this pretty glittered white paper I bought, but it was too thick for the puncher ๐Ÿ˜ฆ it’s ok though, I’ll definitely be using it for something else! I punched out 48 snowflakes, because I wanted 6 rows with 8 snowflakes each. Using white sticker paper (but you could very well use plain tape), I stuck a strand ofย  thread to the backs of each snowflake. I used a ruler to guide how far apart I wanted them to be.

I continued that for about oh–a million hours, and then I cut some strips of cardstock, and taped them together to make one long strip. I took one of the strands of snowflakes and placed it next to the strip of cardstock to see how long I should make it, as I wanted them to be as far apart as they were on the strand. I covered the ugly strip with some brown paper (which I may add some lace or fabric to) and taped the snowflake strands onto the back. You could very well use a piece of decorative wood, but this is what I had on hand, so I went with it ๐Ÿ™‚

I used tape to hang it up, as it’s all made of paper, and very light, but you could put it up however you’d like. I love the way the snowflakes look against my blue wall, and can’t wait to decorate for Christmas this year!!

 

**UPDATE!!**

I covered the brown strip with some pretty lace, and I love this even more! ๐Ÿ™‚snowflakeart4

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

12 responses to “Snowflake Wall Art

  1. I just left Michael’s today b/c they were having a sale and got all my cardstock. We’re in full blown Christmas madness up here in Canada b/c we celebrate Thanksgiving in Oct so I actually had to write out a checklist of Christmas crafts to do b/c my daughter asks me every single day when can we make ornaments already. I love this snowflake decor! It’s simple and yet makes such an impact!

    • Oooh what fun!! Yes, I did my Michaels shopping yesterday because of the sale, but of course forgot a few things! Good thing I work there haha. So what kind of ornaments will you be making?? I want to try the cinnamon clay ones that are all over pinterest. Thank you! My hands hurt after punching all those snowflakes lol, but I really like the way it came out too ๐Ÿ™‚

      • We just tried out a rough version of the Baking Soda Dough ones vs the Salt Dough ones that are all over Pinterest. I love them! They’re so pure white in their colour that I was sold. I still remember my mom making things like her own playdough (she was a teacher) for her class to save money and everytime I do a recipe she’s always like Oh please we did that way back when. I feel like a dork for just discovering it.

    • Ooooh I’ve never heard of baking soda dough, that sounds interesting! I feel the same way! Finding out about all these things and having older people saying, uhhh yeah I’ve done that for years lol. Are you going to post the baking soda dough?? I definitely want to try that too!

    • Ooooh yes! How cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I will be a happy woman if we get no snow this year…..except on Christmas….Christmas, snow is allowed lol

  2. Pingback: Free Christmas Printables | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. I cant wait to get hold of some paper punchers when i get to america! i wanna make some easy quick seasonal buntings for dinner parties! and yes i agree, with us who like to make things, we HAVE to plan ahead! mom starts a year in advance. her projects are big and detailed, i start about summer time! anything white and wintery like this (maybe with a splash of glitter too) would also be good for winter weddings! love this!

    • I started christmas presents in January! I just decided I’m having an ugly sweater party this year, so I wanted to start making decorations ASAP. I probably started a little too late, but I’m also OCD, so I’ll get it all done, even if it means I get no sleep! haha! Oh you’re going to go crazy when you get into a crafts store here!! Btw how many more days?!

  4. Pingback: DIY Christmas Decorations | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

