DIY T-Shirt Quilt

You wouldn’t know this if you met him, but my husband is well….the sentimental type. As in he has about a million shirts that he doesn’t want to get rid of because they all have “special meanings” to him. He’s got more closet space that I do, and a big dresser! And still! He has no room for all his clothes! There’s stuff in there that he’s maybe worn twice since we’ve been dating (4+ years!!) Buuuut…in all honesty, I also think it’s sweet 🙂 So I told him that if he gave  me the shirts he doesn’t wear anymore, I’d make a quilt from them. This was sometime last year….I was actually kind of dreading it, as I knew it would be a lot of work…and it was….but I finally got to it today, after packing away all my summer clothes (wahhhh!!! 😦 ) And it was so worth it, it came out SO COOL! And now, I have so much plain scrap fabric left over that I can’t wait to use! The process is really, really simple, it’s just really time consuming. I just decided I wanted to get it up on the blog, so I forced myself to finish it up today (even if my sewing machine was hot as an oven and yelling at me by the end of it). I would suggest NOT doing that lol.

 

I started by measuring all the prints on each shirt. I did this to find the largest one, so I knew how big each square would be. The largest one was 13in. So I cut a 13in x 13in square out, and used it as a guide for all the other ones. I cut the front of the shirt and back (for the back of the quilt).

 

I had 16 shirts all together, so I wanted to do 4 squares by 4 squares to make it an even square. I started by pinning and sewing 4 squares together to get one long strip. I sewed right sides together, but I actually wish I had the raw seam on the outside to give it more of a “raggedy” look to it. I sewed about 1/4 of an inch from the edge, but no matter what the measurement, you need to stick to it for all the pieces you sew together so it stays a perfect square. Mine was a little off, but luckily not too noticeable.

 

After I got all 4 strips done, I sewed them all together (long ways) to make them into one large square. Make sure your prints are all going one way!!

 

I repeated all of this for the back pieces and then finally sewed both the front and back together (right sides together) leaving a little opening to pull it through. Sew the hole closed by hand or sewing machine, and admire your awesome new quilt! My husband loved it (can you tell from his face? lol) 🙂

P.S. Would also be great for baby clothes!!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

15 responses to “DIY T-Shirt Quilt

  1. My friend did a quilt like this, but left the raw edges out about half an inch, then used scissors to make a little fringe. I love the idea of using t-shirts because they are so soft!

    • Ooooh love the fringe idea! And I agree, it’s really soft, and heavy too! Perfect, now that it’s starting to get cold out!

  2. love it! did you do all that in one day?!?! my husband is soooo not sentimental for anything, but i sure am! i am clinging on to dear life to baby clothes i cannot part with! i don’t care if we are moving across the world and i may not have another one, i am not getting rid of them! lol i might just go to the village thrift when we are in ohio on 50cent day and buy random cool tees and make something like this for fun! its very cool 🙂

    • I’m the sameeee way! I’m in a work of trouble when I have kids, because I’m going to want to keep everyyyything! Lol I still have all my dogs first toys and clothes…imagine when I actually have kids lol! Not only did I do this all in one day, but also pretty much in one sitting! Aside from waiting an hour for my husband to get home to pick out 4 more shirts I could use, I did it alllll. And on the floor! My back and legs were killing me the next day lol. But it was really worth it, it came out pretty cool. I think you should make one! But maybe spread he process out to within a few days haha

  3. We made a similar quilt when my step daughter died. We took all of her clothes and sewed the front half on to a sheet like appliques, then used another sheet for the backing. Her father loved it and when he missed her too much he would wrap up in the quilt and spend time with her…… Sad, but it was helpful in his morning process…..

    • What a beautiful way to remember a loved one! I’m so sorry to hear of you and your husbands loss.

  4. WOW!! This is a great idea! I also really like your idea about having your followers post their own pictures of the crafts they make based on your tutorials!! Do you mind if I use this idea on my blog?

  5. Pingback: DIY Gifts | Pinterest Addicted·

Leave a Reply

