Design Your Own Textile

So, for Halloween this year I have not one, but TWO costumes. The first one is from last year. There was a (completely random) INSANE snow storm the day before Halloween, so the party I was going to got cancelled, and I didn’t get to wear it. Well, I spent a lot of money on it to have it not be worn! My sister and I are going as (girl versions of) Maverick and Goose from Top Gun! The other costume, you will have to wait to see…. 🙂 I came up with the idea while searching through Pinterest (of course) and thought holy crap, between my husband and I how have we never thought of this!? I knew I had to make my part of the costume, but also knew that I don’t have the kind of luck to just go into a fabric store and find exactly what I need, so I decided to stamp the design on. I was actually really excited about it, because imagine the possibilities of DESIGNING YOUR OWN FABRIC!!! It came out awesome and I can’t wait to do more!

I used a sheet of adhesive foam from Michaels (for dirt cheap!), drew and cut out my little apple, stuck it on a stamp block, and using Martha Stewart paint I stamped it onto my fabric. I made a separate leaf, as I wanted the leaf to be a different color, and stamped that over it. I didn’t go crazy trying to get them all perfect, because for this particular job, I liked the way it looked if they were a little off! 🙂 Michaels, as well as other arts and crafts stores, have already cut foam shape stickers as well as the plain sheets. This project was so much fun, and I LOVE the way my costume came out (even if my back is killing me from sitting at that sewing machine for over 4 hours! lol). Can anyone guess what I am just from the fabric design?!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Design Your Own Textile

  1. Pingback: DIY Doggie Halloween Costume | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

