Pumpkin Bagels: A Recipe

These bagels are so good, they’re dangerous! I’ve never had a pumpkin bagel before, but I had some left over pumpkin puree left over from when I made it from scratch, and I was thinking of what I could make. I took a bite of my everything bagel, and it hit me. PUMPKIN BAGELS! Pumpkin bagels with cream cheese, which I unfortunately didn’t have, but plain butter was even delicious on it, so I can only imagine how perfectly paired the cream cheese would be with it! Using my homemade bagels recipe, I came up with a pumpkin one. I halved it, to practice making them, and got 5 bagels.

 

Pumpkin Bagels: (Makes 5)

  • 1 package of yeast
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup hot water (not too hot, not too warm. You should be able to put your finger in for more than a few seconds without it burning)
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (canned or fresh)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 – 21/2 cups bread flour
  • Sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling over bagels once boiled. I would use raw sugar, as the crystals won’t melt when baked. And I would NOT skip this step!! The cinnamon sugar is such a nice touch!

 

Start by pouring the water over the yeast and brown sugar. Once the yeast starts to foam up, add your pumpkin puree, and spice blend and mix until combined. Then, add your salt and start with 1 cup of flour. Once it’s come together, add more flour (try 1/4 cup flour at a time) until it comes together to form a sticky but not too sticky dough. Once you have the dough, follow the directions of my original bagel recipe by clicking HERE!!

Here are the B-E-A-Utiful results!!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Pumpkin Bagels: A Recipe

Leave a Reply

