Sprucing Up A Jean Jacket

So, for the longest time ever, I’ve wanted a jean jacket. Well, I got one over the summer…

Then, I came home one day and my dog had chewed the button off the bottom in the back.

Argh!!

What can I do?! Add some fabric, and make it cute. Even though I wanted a plain jean jacket, I still made this one look adorable!

The perpetrator:

 

The before and after picture:

 

I started by cutting off the flaps and the other button, so the fabric could lay flat. Next, I cut my fabric. It was kind of on the thin side, so I doubled it over to make it thicker. I sewed it, forming a tube, and then folded the sides in(don’t need to sew this yet, because you sew it down in a little bit).

 

Then, right side down, I pinned the strip down right above the bottom band. I stopped before getting to the button, because there was no way to get the button through without making a big hole.

 

I sewed it as close as I could to the edge. Once it’s sewn, pull the fabric down to cover up the seam.

 

Next, I wrapped it around to the other side, and found that it didn’t go to the other sides edge, so what I did was, using Heat N Bond, I ironed it down. What I originally wanted to do, was sew through both the layers, but this is fine, it will definitely hold.

Here it is on!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

5 responses to “Sprucing Up A Jean Jacket

Leave a Reply

