Homemade Applesauce In 15 Minutes: A Recipe

So as you may know after yesterday’s post, I went apple picking and I’m on an apple cooking frenzy! I’m going to be making all kinds of apple goodies, and I’ll be sharing them with you! Today is a simple one ingredient, one pot recipe. A woman I used to work for told me about this way of making applesauce, and I’ve been making it this way ever since. I don’t think it could get any easier! I’ve heard of making applesauce in a crock pot, but if you don’t feel like waiting that long, this is the recipe for you. Literally, all you do it peel and chop the apples, and let them simmer in the pot, covered, for 15 minutes, or until tender. You could most certainly add cinnamon, but I usually make it plain. As the apples cook, they get sweeter, so I wouldn’t recommend adding sugar, but if you have a crazy sweet tooth, go ahead, I’m not judging! πŸ˜‰

So like I said, I peeled my apples. You don’t need to do this step, especially if you plan on blending them (they’ll make it a pretty pink color!), but I like to, as I only lightly mash my apples, so the skins would just add a bad texture.Β  I used 3, but this all depends on how much you want to make. As for types of apples, I usually do a mixture of sweet and tart, but this depends upon preference.

 

Whenever I get the peeler out of the drawer, Roscoe comes running into the kitchen. I can’t help but give him a little piece of one of his favorite treats!

 

So I quarter up my apples, (cut the seeds out!) and then cut the pieces in half, just so they fit easier in the pot. You could just cut them in half if you have a bigger pot, but it may take a few minutes longer to cook. Put your burner on low, as you don’t want them to burn and stick to the bottom of the pot. Every few minutes, stir them so they all cook evenly. Your apples are ready when soft and tender.

 

I like my applesauce chunky, so I use a hand masher, but you can most definitely blend them until smooth.

 

I scraped my chunky applesauce into a jar, and stuck it in the fridge until cooled. That’s it! One pot and masher to clean, and within 20 minutes, I had applesauce. πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

7 responses to “Homemade Applesauce In 15 Minutes: A Recipe

  1. I have to say, I do mine in an even easier and lazier way. Just peel and.chop, bowl and cover with cling film, then microwave for 5 minutes.

    Mush with no messing! No need to mash! I usually freeze in bags, or use to make cookies or something.

  2. I just made some for my boyfriend who is trying to get over a gastro-intestinal virus. I am putting him on the BRAT diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, toast). It is easy and delicious, and pretty!

  3. Pingback: Vegan Pumpkin Muffins With Cinnamon Butter | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

