Cinnamon Apple Salsa: A Recipe

Fall is almost here!!!!! I love, love, LOVE fall! Everything about it…but mostly….the food! The apples, the pumpkin, the concord grapes, figs…..I can go on, but I won’t. Yesterday, I went apple picking for the first time this year, and made a list of all the delicious goodies I’m going to make! Today, I’ve started! My sister saw a post on Pinterest for apple salsa, served with cinnamon pita chips, and I was on it in about…5 seconds. This recipe is SO simple, and SO delicious. And even better, you’re only left with a few dishes to clean afterwards πŸ™‚

Cinnamon Apple Salsa:

3 Apples

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Little squeeze of lemon

1Β  teaspoon arrowroot powder (or cornstarch or kudzu)

Cinnamon Pita Chips

 

Start by cutting your apples. You want your dices pretty small, 1/4in or smaller.

 

Get all but the arrowroot into your pan, and heat until all the sugar is dissolved. Let it bubble up a little, and then add the arrowroot, whisking until no lumps remain.

 

Lower the heat, and add your apples. Cook until just warmed through, or until tender. This all depends on your preference! (I added my arrowroot in a little late, but it was fine!)

 

Serve warm with cinnamon pita chips!! πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

8 responses to “Cinnamon Apple Salsa: A Recipe

  1. Yes I LOOOVE autumn too! The colours, the food, wearing sweaters and the fun holidays! This looks so yummy! I do something similar for an apple crumble/cobbler dessert thing. Love apples and cinnamon! Did you make the pita chips? I just had some plain store bought ones for the first time the other week, we had it with sweet chilli hummus and loved it! One day I would love an apple tree and make all sorts of apple goodness! πŸ™‚

    • Yummmm sweet chili hummus?! Sounds deelish. I didn’t make the pita chips, but as I was eating them all I could think about is making them myself and how easy it probably would be.
      This is actually the same way I make my apple pie filling! I just cut them into slices instead of the tiny cubes. And I looove crumbles, I can’t make a pie with a crusted top, it HAS to be a crumble! Sooo good. I was thinking of making it today actually πŸ™‚
      The whole time we were apple picking all I could think of was if I just had ONE apple tree I could make soooo much good food! That’s all I need, I won’t be greedy, just one apple tree, I’d do anything to get one!

  2. Pingback: Homemade Applesauce In 15 Minutes: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. This sounds rather interesting, and it’s both quick and easy to make, which is good for someone like me. πŸ˜€ Hopefully I’ll find some arrowroot powder or a replacement in time to try this πŸ™‚

    • Cornstarch works too! It’s really just to make the juices thicker, more like a syrup, so if you can’t find it, it wouldn’t taste bad! The texture would just be a little bit off. I believeeee (don’t quote me on this) you could use flour too. I use it while cooking to thicken up sauces, so I dont see why it wouldn’t work here!

  4. Pingback: 20 Amazing Apple Recipes - Cherished Bliss·

Leave a Reply

