Shoebox Remodel: A Tutorial

I have this shoebox that fits my acrylic paints perfectly. Only problem is, it’s ugly. I’m trying to organize my craft shelves, and I’d like to make it pretty as I go along, so I decided to cover the box with some contact paper. I know it’s so simple, but for some reason I never thought of it. I’ve covered shoeboxes in scrapbook paper before, but it always comes out uneven, and a lot of the times, it doesn’t hold up, or even worse, after all the measuring, cutting and gluing, the top doesn’t fit anymore! Enter contact paper. It’s easy to pull up if you need to move it around, and it’s really thin, so I knew I wouldn’t have a problem with the top going back on.

I just happened to have some pretty paper from the dollar store (yes, an inexpensive project! πŸ™‚ ), so the only thing more I needed for this project was scissors. ***I apologize for the awful pictures. I left my camera at my friend’s house, and used my cellphone. As you can see, I don’t have an iPhone lol.)***

 

So, all I did was place the lid on top, measure, and cut. For extra reinforcement, I wanted the contact paper to go overΒ  the lip, so I cut it longer. Starting with the sides closest and furthest to me, and cut straight lines so I can easily fold them over.

 

Carefully, I unpeeled the backing, aligned it to the slits, and adhered it to the box. You don’t want any bubbles on the lid, as you’ll be seeing it, so I used a flat object to brush any bubbles out as I pushed the paper onto the box. It worked great! I had very little bubbles, and they were barely noticeable. If you get any stubborn ones, you can always prick them with a pin and push the air out.

 

After I got the two sides covered, I cut away the excess paper, and covered the other sides. Using invisible tape, I covered the corners that were showing.

 

Using the same method, I covered the base of the box. I didn’t care too much about bubbles on the bottom, as it won’t be seen, so as long as they’re not so bad that they’re causing the paper to become unaligned, then I’d just leave them be. The sides, however you want to lay flat. Here’s my remodel! I love it πŸ™‚

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

2 responses to “Shoebox Remodel: A Tutorial

Leave a Reply

