Easy Homemade Nutella: A Recipe

OH MOTHER OF GOD! HOMEMADE NUTELLA IS THE BEST THING EVER!!! Okay, so I’ve never actually had Nutella in general, so I don’t how know it tastes in comparison, but I can’t imagine it being any better than this! My husband is a Nutella fanatic….he has 2 (backup) jars in the cabinet. So, when I saw this post on Pinterest, I just KNEW I had to make it for him for our anniversary. I honestly didn’t think it was going to be this easy, or delicious, but I was SO wrong! It’s really easy IF you have a good food processor. If not, then your Nutella may be a little gritty….but still delicious, I assure you!

Homemade Nutella (Recipe from Leite’s Culinaria)

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 12 ounces milk chocolate, chopped (I used a bag of Ghirardelli’s milk chocolate chips)
  • 2 tablespoons mild vegetable oil, such as canola (I used grapeseed oil)
  • 3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, more or less depending upon your preference (I actually forgot to put this in, but I’d imagine it would make it even more delicious!)

Start by preheating your oven to 350F. Spread your hazelnuts on a sheet pan and toast for about 10 minutes. Leite’s Culinaria suggested 12 minutes, but 10 was perfect for me. I’m REALLY bad at remembering that I’m toasting nuts in the oven (I forgot and burned THREE batches in school!) so I ALWAYS put an alarm on my phone!!

After they’ve browned, put the hazelnuts in a kitchen towel and rub until most of the skins come off. I went in after and rubbed any excess off. It’s tedious, but worth it. The skins add a terrible texture, as they’re hard to chew. Some won’t come off, and that’s ok, but you want most of them clean.

See? Nice and clean…they kinda look like dried chickpeas! (But certainly don’t TASTE like them!)

Look at all that skin!!

Melt your chocolate chips (I used the microwave, but be careful, chocolate is EASILY burned in the microwave!) and let them cool for a little while you finish up with the hazelnuts. Now that they’re are nice and clean, stick the nuts in the food processor (I used my Cuisineart and it worked BEAUTIFULLY!) until they become a paste. I left it going for about 10 minutes, while I cleaned up so it was as smooth as possible. If you find they’re not turning into a paste, add the oil and try again. Once they’ve turned to a paste, add all but the melted chocolate and puree again until incorporated. Now, you can add the chocolate and blend until completely incorporated and smooth. Again, I let the processor run for about 10 minutes.

Left: Without melted chocolate Right: With

It will seem really thin at first, but trust me, once the chocolate chips set up, it gets nice and thick and creamy. If you put it in the fridge, it will get super thick, so you could even make truffles with it (can you say YUM?) Leite’s Culinaria says it will last for 2 weeks on the counter…but like her, I laugh, because we know there’s no way it would even last that long!!!

I made a cute label for it, and packed it up in a Ball jar!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

18 responses to “Easy Homemade Nutella: A Recipe

  1. Why do you make everything look so easy woman! You kill me b/c if I tried this, I’d probably destroy my kitchen. I’m just going to pretend I am eating that one. PS – I’ve nominated you for a blogger award – 7 Things About Me. You can accept or decline. Go to my page to see how it works. πŸ™‚

    • Lol thank you! I try not to take the pictures when things aren’t working out because….things get ugly sometimes! Lol But I just make myself get up and try again! As for this, it really is easy!! Like I said, it’s allll in the food processor! I tried it will a bad one at first, and I was screaming! (did I leave that part out? Lol) but once I got it in the cuisine art, it did all the work for me. As for the award, I’m honored, and I’ll gladly accept!! Thank you so much, Alex!! πŸ™‚

    • Ohhh yeah! This stuff is too good for words! But like I’ve said before, it’s only easy if your food processor works good! I tried it out with a different one at first and the nuts would just NOT become a paste for anything! And literally a minute after I moved it the my other food processor, it was completely smooth! Good luck! Let me know how you like it if you do make it! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Dark chocolate hazelnut spread « In Vegetables We trust·

  3. Pingback: Home made Nutella | Our food·

  4. You don’t even have to melt the chocolate, just add it right to the processor! Also, try it with coconut oil…so delicious!!

    • I would think a few months if you got the correct container for you. You could just put it in anything, it’d have to be in a jar made for the freezer πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

