Happy 1 Year Anniversary To Me And My Husband!

Last year today, I walked down the aisle and married my best friend. It may not have been outside, like planned (damn you, hurricane Irene), but it was beautiful nonetheless.

Flashback a week prior to my big day. Hurricane Irene. Destroying the whole area and surrounding area’s that I live in. I was getting suspicious when I emailed one of the guys from my wedding venue, and hadn’t heard back from him that day.

Then I got the great news from my mom.

“The gardens were destroyed, you’re not going to be able to have the wedding outside like you wanted.” (Obviously it wasn’t said that cold, but it sure stung!)

Honestly, I didn’t even know what to think. I wanted to cry, and I HATE when people feel sorry for me, so it made it even worse to know that everyone but I knew about it. THEN, she proceeds to tell me that I’m lucky I’m even having a wedding at all, as the venue lost electricity for a few days, and the bridge that’s on the street leading to them, collapsed. They had people working on that bridge until a HALF HOUR before my rehearsal dinner (which I sadly have no pictures from)!!! I couldn’t believe they did it. I literally CAN NOT talk Catlin Gardens up enough. The place is amazing, the staff is amazing, the food is amazing, EVERYTHING is amazing! But really, I can’t get over how amazing the people were. They made me feel so calm, and relaxed on the day of my wedding, even when things were running (really) late. And what’s even nicer is they remember not only me, but my family members when they go in (as there’s a restaurant attached as well).

So now that there was the great news that the gardens were pretty much non existent,Β  I had to break the news to my photographers, who drove up and met with Keith and I a week prior to the wedding to figure out when and where we would take all the pictures. I could just hear how awful she felt when I told her. She said “DO NOT worry about the location, we’re going to figure something out.” Well, as if I wasn’t lucky enough to have the amazing people at Catlin Gardens, my photographers drove all the way up, and looked at nearby places we could take pictures outside. Not only did they LOOK, but they also took pictures, and sent them to me to make sure I liked the area! I can’t TELL you the relief I felt after seeing those pictures. They found an adorable little farm that wasn’t affected by the hurricane at all (somehow). There were flowers all over the place, and a barn. A BARN! I was soooo excited to see that! It was SO my style!

Everything happens for a reason….I swear by it.

Not only did they find this perfect spot for us to take our pictures, but they also talked to Catlin Gardens and asked if there was any way they could clean up a few areas to get some pictures in the gardens. While we couldn’t go to far into the gardens, we got amazinggg pictures where we could go.

It was a beautiful day, not a gloomy cloud in the sky! I loved this, but at the same time I hated it. We couldn’t really GO outside, so why did it have to be so damn nice out!? lol

So are you ready for pictures yet???

There were over 600 pictures taken that day, so obviously I’m not going to be putting that many up, but I WILL post some of my favorites from each part of the day. The photographers, Le Conteur Photography (CHECK THEM OUT NOW!!!) are a husband and wife team, and I just love, love, love them (if you can’t tell by now!). When I saw their work online, I was really drawn to them. There work was different than the other photographers I’d seen, and the colors and quality were amazing. When we met with them, I knew within 5 minutes that they were the ones for us! I didn’t even need to know prices! My number one priority for the wedding was the photographers. Pictures are all you have left from your wedding. After so many years, your memory fades, and what’s left are the pictures. I needed them to be amazing, and I needed a lot. We decided to have both of them photograph opposed to just one, this way they could get different angles, some close, some far, and we could have someone working at the photo snap station while the other took pictures of the reception. I am SO glad we did this, it ended up being perfect. I loved how they both worked together, and the husband made Keith and I laugh, as sometimes a wave of nervous energy would rush through us…and who wants that in a picture?!

Keith and I decided to meet prior to the ceremony because we’d be able to get more personal pictures, instead of having everyone watch, or have to squeeze it in between family and bridal party shots. So what they did was drive me to the farm, and have Keith (driven by our brother-in-law) be inside the barn waiting for me. When we were all ready, they had him come out and clicked away!! (I wish I knew how to upload different galleries in one post, because I hated having to size down all the pictures…but it’s better than having a million separate ones where you’d have to scroll down the page.)

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

Here’s my favorites of us from the farm!

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

I figured I’d sneak the cufflinks I made Keith for our wedding gift in here. His favorite bands are Staind and Mudvayne. I actually took pictures of his shirts and cut them out to use for them! I put epoxy over them and they were good to go! He loved them! And I felt like it was nice to have a touch of Keith in the wedding as I kind of took control of everything (like most brides do!)

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

And now my favorite ones from Catlin Gardens!

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

So about the hand gesture that my husband is making in the bottom left picture……we have a little “game” in our family. You may remember it from high school, you make this sign with your hand and if someone sees it they’re an a*hole. I know….it’s stupid, but we’ve been doing it for so long, and the more creative you are with getting the people to see it, the more fun! So how couldn’t we do it in our wedding pictures?! lol Actually, my husband was wearing a shirt with it on it when we met with the photographers for the first time, and the husband actually knew what it was was! And as silly as it sounds, that’s how I knew they would be our photographers! lol. On a side, side note, they just had an adorable baby boy, and I sent them this onesie that I made haha! I think they’ll get a kick out of it!

Anyway, I digress….onto the ceremony!

I made the flower girls hair flower pins, and they all (I had three!) looked adorable! Mid ceremony, one of my ring bearers got nervous and ran over to his momma (Who’s Keith’s sister, and in my bridal party) haha! I’m so glad he did, because it broke the nervous energy, we all laughed! (Check out the ring pillow, I made it, as it’s the only picture I got before they destroyed them! lol)

Song the bridal party walked down to: Never Going Back Again- Fleetwood Mac (instrumental version)

Song I walked down to: I Will-The Beatles (instrumental version covered by Frank Benedetti & Peter Pupping)

After the ceremony, we all went outside and took a million pictures, but I’ll just share with you the bridal parties. It looks like the boys are wearing white, but it’s actually ivory. Afterwards, I wished I would have had Keith wear the ivory, and the boys wear brown, but they still looked good. And it was funny, when they first saw them they’re like “really….white?” and then when they got in them, they were all “okay, I look gooood.” LOL …boys….

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

And finally, what we were waiting for the whole morning….Party time!! (I’m not going to bore you with our first dance pictures, but I will say that our song was Tangled Up In You by Staind. I never would have thought that a Staind song would be my wedding song one day (I actually hated them before I met my husband)…but listen to it. It’s not what you think! It’s such a beautiful song, and we listened it it when we first started dating a lot, so it was really meaningful πŸ™‚ ) I actually wanted to do Neil Young’s Harvest Moon, but I felt it was more of a renewing of the vows type song, so I’m saving it for then!!

Father daughter dance song: Unforgettable – Nat King & Natalie Cole

Mother son dance song: My Wish – The Rascal Flatts

Our second song (after the cake) was These Photographs – Joshua Radin (listen to it, it’s soooo good!)

Now, I have to explain something to you. I have a superb (mmhmm) taste in music. SUPERB, I tell you! I actually handed our DJ a (LONG, double sided) list of songs that needed to be played, and songs that I’d like to be played (I’m the bride, so that meant they were being played lol) and they did such a good job of sticking to it! If they didn’t have the song, I was able to email it to them. I even had a song play that was by my friend’s husband’s cousin (who’s from Barbados). It’s a really, really good dancing song (but just know the whole video is girls shakin’ it lol!), and just about everyone was shakin’ there booty when it came on, not to mention that it brought a tear to my eye how happy it made him to hear the song from his homeland!

The first song to play was “Under The Sea” from The Little Mermaid. I love that song, but I knew the kids would as well! So I grabbed one of my flower girls and we were the first on the dance floor!

I’m not lying to you when I say that there were people dancing ALL NIGHT (myself included), even during dinner! I had people come up to me (and I still get it) and say that they LOVED the music I played. Not that I’m bragging or anything….ehem πŸ™‚

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

Apparently my photographers thought it was funny to take pictures of my sister and I when we were drunk, dancing, and singing (no idea as to what song though lol)*update!! It was I Got You Babe by Sonny and Cher!! Haha*

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

Let them eat cake! And we did….but only that one bite. Because MY SISTER’S BOYFRIEND ended eating the rest of mine when we got up!! lol It’s okay though, we had some for breakfast the next morning πŸ™‚ haha

Song: Adam Sandler-(you guessed it) I Wanna Grow Old With You

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

My sister’s boyfriend is in the Navy. When they first started dating, they went to the movies like, 5 times in a day every day for like 3 months. But that’s besides the point lol. The movie theatre near us has a classic movie showing every so often, and they played Top Gun. If you’ve seen that movie, you know the song “Take my Breath Away” comes on like 4 times during the movie, and it’s super corny, so I decided I needed to embarrass them and have it dedicated to them sometime during the night. I was literally cryingΒ  because I was laughing so hard when I was just E-MAILING the DJ asking him to do this, so I was SO excited for when it happened. I knew my sister would get a kick out of it, but Tom, on the other hand would be super embarrassed.Β  I was so right! He got so red, (you can see in the first picture he’s saying “Noooo!” but they got up there, and we did too so they didn’t feel awkward. It was one of my favorite memories from the day. We couldn’t stop laughing! I just remember looking at my sister’s face when the DJ announced the song was dedicated to them (I’m laughing now as I’m typing this lol)

Bouquet toss!

Song: Mika-Love Today, and that’s my flower girl who caught it and then gave it to the best man (Keith’s brother’s) girlfriend (who’s engaged now actually!! πŸ™‚ )! haha

Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

And FINALLY……last but DEFINITELY not least….some silly photo snap station photos!Le Conteur Photography captures the wedding of Nicole Torre and Keith Boenigk on September 2, 2011 at Catlin Gardens in Slate Hill NY.

Well now that you’ve basically attended my wedding, I hope you had a great time! And if you’re planning a wedding, I hope I gave you some good ideas and inspiration! These past few posts have taken so long to write up, but I’m so glad I did it, because now every year I’ll look back at them and smile πŸ™‚

18 responses to “Happy 1 Year Anniversary To Me And My Husband!

  1. Happy anniversary! They say the first year is the hardest! I love that Hurricane Irene interrupted your plans…remember, that was when John intended to propose to me in Tulum, but Rina got in the way! I also love that you wanted Neil Young at one point but are saving the song for a later date. You looked just beautiful!!!

  2. Hi there Nicole!!

    I loved the 3 posts series way of celebrating your 1st anniv.. Oops!! Wish you n Keith a ‘be- elated’ happy 1st wedding anniversary..
    Loved all ur posts.. The pictures are so awesome!!

    I enjoyed being a part of ur wedding excitement – a year later ;)Have an awesome vacation πŸ™‚
    Cheers
    Shraddha

    PS- Happy blogging n keep posting

  3. Pingback: 2 Year Anniversary | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

