Happy Almost 1 Year Anniversary To Me!

One year ago today, I was freaking out.

I was getting married in 2 days.

I was stressed out, drained, and SO excited.

I wanted to talk about my experience and share with you my story for inspiration, and just because πŸ™‚Β  There’s just so much to talk about that I don’t know where to start!! So, how about I go in order….the engagement! (You may want to get a cup of coffee and get a little comfortable, there’s going to be a lot to read today (and tomorrow, and the next day! πŸ™‚ Oh- and also lovey dovey crap, so if you’re not into that, maybe skip these next few posts haha)

I’ll start with the rings…and the other rings…..

My husband and I knew we were getting married very early in our relationship. We just clicked, and although we went through some problems (like most people, even if they don’t admit it!), we got passed them, and talked about marriage often. I’m very particular with my jewelry, I don’t like flashy, but instead simple and delicate. So I told my husband that I would look at rings and show them to him, and when the time came, he would know what I want. At first I was looking at diamond rings, as that IS the norm to give when getting engaged and married. I fell in love with this ring I found at Brilliant Earth (loved that they used recycled gold, and conflict free diamonds), but then the hippie in me came out. Why did I need a diamond? I try not to be materialistic (obviously to a certain extent everyone is, but I try to keep it real for the most part), and I’d rather spend the money on the wedding, honeymoon, or our future. Β So instead, I designed a moonstone ring and had someone make it (and my husbands ring) for us on etsy.

Well, I loved it, but…..bi-polar me couldn’t stop thinking about this Brilliant Earth ring…The band was BEAUTIFUL. That’s what set it apart from other diamond rings. I don’t really care about the size of the diamond. I’m sorry, but I don’t believe (like too many girls do today) that the size of your ring should determine how much your partner loves you. I DO believe that you should have something that screams you, and that you love, as you’ll be wearing it for the rest of your life (hopefully!). For me, it was just all about the beautiful band. So one night, I couldn’t take it anymore…I told my husband boyfriend at the time, that I couldn’t stop thinking about that ring, and how much I loved it, and the sweet guy that my husband is, said “I just want you to be happy, so if that’s what you want then that’s what you’ll get.”

So, a few days before my birthday, we went to the restaurant Pure Food and Wine, that I used to work at and met up with one of my friends who still worked there. We had a drink and some appetizers, and when we were about to be seated for dinner, she said “I don’t know if there’s a table available that’s big enough for us all, and I’ve got to do things so I think I’m going to go home.” Well….that was a sign from the universe (thank you for having dirty laundry that day! lol), because what we didn’t know, was I was getting engaged that night! And although I love my friend (hi, Courtney!! πŸ™‚ ), I certainly didn’t want her getting in the way of something like that! Haha! So I got up before our food got there to go to use the restroom, and when I came back there was a box with a ring on the table. He took out the moonstone ring, and explained that he ordered the other ring and it hadn’t come yet, but he didn’t want to wait (after he proposed of course!). I certainly didn’t care!! I’d imagined my proposal so many times, but it never prepared me for the real thing (even if I DID have the slightest inkling it just might happen that night haha!) I was just so taken back and excited, and nervous (for the planning part) and happy all at the same time πŸ™‚

I ended up getting my ring a few days later for Christmas πŸ™‚ The best part about having the two sets of rings, is that I change things up all the time depending on how I’m feeling. Sometimes I’m a little hippie, and my moonstone ring is perfect, while other times I wanna get dressed up, which my diamond rings are perfect for.

Excuse the crappy quality this might have been taken with my cell phone at the time!

I made him get down on one knee and give it to me since the tables were too close together to do it at the restaurant the original time haha!

You love the outfit right? I know…

So that’s how it began….next came the planning…which will be my post for tomorrow!! I’m gonna make you wait for my beautiful wedding pics!! But until then…I’ll leave you with a few of my favorites from our engagement shoot πŸ™‚

All photos taken by Le Conteur Photography

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

18 responses to “Happy Almost 1 Year Anniversary To Me!

  1. Love that you have two rings- so do I!! I just couldn’t make up my mind on one haha the engagement was the best, so much excitement, love your post!

Leave a Reply

