Reusable Cup Remodel: A Tutorial

Okay so, I have this reusable to-go cup that my friend got me as a gift because she knows I always gotta have a drink with me, and one day I was making iced coffee and I guess I didn’t pour slowly enough, because it got a little crack on the outside. It’s double insulated, so the crack doesn’t affect anything, it just didn’t look great. Since it was a gift, I didn’t want to get rid of it, so instead I thought I’d fix it up and paint a little something on it. I’m so glad I did, because it came out really cute and it covered the crack perfectly šŸ™‚

Here’s the crack:

 

I decided on the design because I’m a bit obsessed with it…I don’t know what it’s called…leaves on a vine? Anyone? I just know that it’s pretty popular right now and I love it! I started by painting the stem, vine, whatever you want to call it, using some painters tape, and Martha Stewart paint, because it goes on plastic (although, I’d still only hand wash it).

 

Originally, I wanted to use a leaf stamp that I had bought, but it didn’t work out so well, so instead I hand painted them. They didn’t come out perfect, or even, but I actually liked it! Usually, I’m a perfectionist, and it would bother me like crazy, but I think it actually looks better this way!

And there you have it! An easy remodel. I even saw one of these reusable cups at the Dollar Tree yesterday so it would be a really cute and inexpensive gift for someone šŸ˜‰ ***Update! Almost a year later, and my cup looks exactly how it did the day I made it! I let it cure for the 25 days that the Martha Stewart paint suggests, and I ALWAYS hand washed. No chips, no nothin’!***

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! šŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until…Thursday! (If you don’t follow me on facebook, I’ve decided that I won’t be posting on work days (Wed. & Thurs.) anymore, as I’m too exhausted to do anything!)

10 responses to “Reusable Cup Remodel: A Tutorial

  1. This is a great idea! It would be perfect for themed party treats, paint butterflies, popcorn, even just names, whatever the theme, fill with goodies and good to go for treat bags!

  2. How is it holding up? I wanted to do this with my Girl Scout troop, but the man at Michael’s told me that paint wouldn’t be permanent. šŸ˜¦ I found the cups at my dollar store and would love to do this, but wondered whether your design is surviving regular use and washing. Thanks!

    • So far so good! I haven’t used it sooo much, but I’ve cleaned it a few times. I clean it so fast though, no soaking, or scrubbing, especially the outside, but it’s holding up! If you were doing it for kids, I would maybe spray it (covering the inside!) with an acrylic sealer. I think that would help!

    • I think it was the Martha Stewart one which works on all surfaces. If it weren’t for my mom putting it in the dishwasher, it would still be perfect after all this time! Even going into the dishwasher though there’s only a few scratches.

Leave a Reply

