Burlap Clutch Bag: A Tutorial

So, if you follow me on facebook, you know that I bought a dress the other day. Well, I was planning on wearing it to the christening that I went to yesterday, but didn’t have a bag that matched. I could have bought one, as I saw a burlap bag from Hobby Lobby the other day, but instead I decided to make one. I had made my friends ring bearer pillow for her wedding (which came out ADORABLE btw, hoping to get a picture) and had a little burlap and lace trimming left over, so all I had to buy was the interfacing, and a fabric to line the inside. This pattern is very similar to my iPod/Pad/Phone slipcase that I made a while back. It’s easy, simple, pretty, and there’s so much you can do with it!

I bought some double sided fusible ultra firm stabilizer from Joanns. The thickest they had was 72F, which was perfect for this project. I didn’t actually fuse it to the fabric, but it seemed that the only stabilizers (in this thickness) that they had were fusible. I cut 16 1/2in x 10in of the stabilizer, 12in x 18in of both the burlap and lining, and then a 7in x 7in square for a pocket.

 

I started with the pocket. You could definitely leave this step out, but I like to have a little pocket to put my mirror, ID and credit card so I don’t have to rummage around the bag for them. You want to fold the square in half (right sides together!), and pin and sew all but one of the smaller sides, and the folded side (which, you still could, but it’s unnecessary, as it’s already closed). Once sewn, turn it inside out, and tuck and pin the ends of the smaller side to hide the raw edges. I measured 6 1/2in up from the bottom, and marked it with chalk, because that’s where the bag will be folded. Then, I found my center within that area and pinned my pocket down leaving the BOTTOM of it open. You’ll see the way it’s folded later will make the opening upwards…promise!

 

Next, I sewed my burlap to the pocketed lining, right sides together. After I turned it inside out, I stuck the stabilizer inside. If you need to cut any off, that’s fine, you just don’t want it to be too wide so the fabrics taught, or too small that it’s moving around and the edges of the bag are flimsy. The chalk marks are at the 6 1/2in point where it will be folded.

 

Now comes the snaps! I LOVE these things! I got them for less than $3 at Joanns, and they couldn’t be easier to get on. I marked, with chalk, where I wanted the snaps to go on my bag, which were 2in from the side, and 2in from the top. After the snaps were on, I then sewed the sides of the bag down using the zig zag stitch (is that what it’s actually called? lol). I went down it twice to make sure it wouldn’t come undone.

 

I couldn’t get a good picture of the snaps on the bottom of the bag, so I did the ones for the top to make it easier to see. The way I measured these, was to put the top snap onto the bottom snap, and then close the top of the bag down onto them. The two prongs from the snaps make an indent, and I mark over it with chalk. This will make a lot more sense when you’re actually doing it. Now to put the snaps on, you make two little slits in the fabric (I went through both the burlap and the stabilizer for extra support)Β  with scissors, or an Xacto knife. Then, you put the prongs through them. On the other side, you take the little piece of metal that comes with the snaps and put them over the progs. I used my fingers, but using a wrench or pliers to close the prongs would probably be a better idea πŸ™‚

 

Once all the snaps were on, I sewed the lace to the edge, closing the bag up. This step is optional too, but the lace made the bag more country chic, which is what I was going for. I tucked the raw edges of both the lining, and burlap in and stuck the lace in between them, pinning down as I went. I sewed as close as the edge as I could, to insure the lace was sewn in.

 

I had the darker burlap flower laying around, and wanted to add some more chic to the clutch, so I glued a pin to the back and stuck it on the corner. I LOVE my new bag, and got so many compliments on it!

 

And here it is with my new dress! *Quick story behind the dress* The other day at work, a customer was wearing it, and she said she got it from Forever 21, so I went there and they actually had ONE left! And in my size! This never happens to me, so I was really excited! πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

20 responses to “Burlap Clutch Bag: A Tutorial

  1. lovely! thanks for sharing! I will try to do this, I’m trying to learn sewing. I just hope my projects be great as yours, you’re so creative and generous to share your creativeness.

  2. Pingback: Placemat To Clutch: Monthly Challenge | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: Feelgood Style | Sustainable fashion reporting, organic beauty tips, DIY projects + tutorials, + natural product reviews.·

  4. What a lovely project! I was just wondering about the Peltex 72F. As far as I can remember, it is quite stiff. Did you have to iron it when you folded the top and bottom parts of the clutch? How did you accomplish such straight lines when the whole thing was folded?

    • If I remember correctly, I cut the pieces where the bag was folded. If I didn’t do that (it was so long ago I don’t remember haha!) you could definitely do that so it folds neatly!

      • Yes, I thought you either cut, or apply a blade without really cutting through the Peltex. My experience with Peltex70 is that when it is folded, the crease won’t go away; it doesn’t really stay folded, but the crease is there for life. I will first fold and apply a little heat to see if it stays. Maybe also stitching on top of it will be the solution. Thanks! (Your clutch is lovely, by the way. I wonder if you still wear it.)

      • Let me know how it comes out! Funny I just went through my bags recently and saw this one and thought how I need an excuse to use it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

