DIY Bath Fizzies: A Tutorial

A few months ago, I came across this post on pinterest, and I knew I had to make them for me as gifts for someone for the holidays. They seemed so easy and fun (and really inexpensive!) And it’s funny, but when I was younger (like teens) I just thought what’s the point of baths? You get in them, and then what…I would draw a bath and then sit in it for 5 minutes and get bored. Now that I’m older, and have lots and lots of stressful things going on in my life, WOW, do I appreciate a good bath! And anything to make it even better πŸ™‚

These really are super easy, you just have to be very careful while adding the water. All you need is citric acid (I bought in the canning section in Walmart for less than $3), baking soda, essential oil(s), a spray bottle with water, and a mold to pack them in.

 

Now, Skip To My Lou’s recipe called for 1 cup of the citric acid (which was all I had), so since I was experimenting, I cut it down a bit just in case I messed up (which I did!)

Bath Fizzies (Recipe adapted from Skip To My Lou)

1/4 cup baking soda

2 tablespoons citric acid

1/2 teaspoon essential oil (something relaxing! πŸ™‚ )

 

I combined the baking soda and citric acid, and stirred in my essential oil (I used eucalyptus). The first time I tried, I didn’t read the directions (like I always do-you think I’d learn!!) and I added some water from the faucet. Well, it started fizzing up and growing, growing, growing, which is when I looked at the directions. She says you don’t want it to fizz up, and this is the reason she sprayed it with water, opposed to pouring it in. But stubborn me still tried…. and here’s what I got!

 

Now, I did notice that it stopped growing after a while, and that I was able to push it into the mold and it stayed, but I also noticed they didn’t fizz as much as the ones that were sprayed with the water (but theyΒ did fizz). So I tried again, this time sprayed lightly and far away to make sure it didn’t get saturated. Each time I sprayed, I’d mix it around with my fingers until it held together.

 

I pushed them into my molds (I used silicone heart molds that I bought from Target’s dollar section during Valentine’s Day a few years ago), and left them until they completely dried (very important, or they’ll break apart!)

 

Be verrry careful while un-molding (as you can see I wasn’t with some of them!)

 

Here’s an (awful) picture of it fizzing! These ones fizzed great!

 

I packed them up in a little Ball jar using a cupcake liner, tag, and some ribbon. There’s so many cute ways to package these little guys up! Skip To My Lou made them look like little bombs and labeled them with “You’re the ‘bomb'”, which is adorable!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

11 responses to “DIY Bath Fizzies: A Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  2. Thank you so much for the recipe. I did add too much water the first time like you lol. But the second time they came out perfect. That is an awesome and easy recipe. Love it. Thank you πŸ™‚

    • You live, you learn lol….now we know never to add too much water! Glad you found this helpful! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

