Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili: A Recipe

So yesterday I made a DELICIOUS dinner. I found it on pinterest, and new I had to make it ASAP. The only thing is it’s been so hot here lately that chili was the last thing I wanted to eat. Well, after a week, I just couldn’t wait any longer. So I cranked up the AC and made it last night. I got the recipe from here, and the only thing I did different, was I put one 15oz can of black beans, and one 15oz can of kidney beans instead of the 29oz can of just black, and I added some chipotle chili powder, because I just looove me some chipotle powder! Let me tell you, my husband doesn’t even like chili and he loved this!! It’s definitely a keeper (thank you, Milk Free Mom!!!), and even better, it’s all prepared in one pot! Couldn’t get any easier! If that doesn’t convince you…than maybe my picture of it will…. πŸ™‚

Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili (Recipe adapted from Milk Free Mom)

  • one 15 oz can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • one 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • one 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 32 oz vegetable stock
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon chipotle chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into bite sized chunks
  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • avocado, cilantro for garnishΒ  (optional, but sooo good!)
  • tortilla chips (also optional, but damnnn good!)
  1. Heat the oil in a large heavy soup pot over medium low heat.
  2. Add onions, and cook until soft and they start to turn brown (about 10 minutes).
  3. Add the garlic, and cook for about 2 minutes.
  4. Add the tomato paste, chili powder, cumin, and oregano and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
  5. Add the beans, stock, and potatoes, and season with salt and pepper .
  6. Cook for about 5 minutes, then add the quinoa. Continue cooking for about 15 minutes, stirring frequently, until quinoa and potatoes are cooked and the chili has thickened.
  7. Add a bit of water if the chili becomes too thick for your liking (which is never, in my opinion!) .
  8. Top with avocado and cilantro!
  9. I started to eat it with a fork, and then the tortilla chips were calling my name, and I couldn’t resist.

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

9 responses to “Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili: A Recipe

  1. This was SO delicious and easy! Great way to get in protein for my 3 year old who doesn’t love meat. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  2. This looks amazing! but what can you use instead of the sweet potato? I can’t seem to find it in my country. Thank you and congratulations you really are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

