Baby Monthly Iron-On Transfers: A Tutorial

A friend of mine had a beautiful baby boy last month, and so I looked around on Pinterest to come up with some ideas of what to make her. A while back, I had pinned this realllly cute idea; monthly onesies. Well, as cute as they were, they’re not entirely practical. Babies, especially boys!, grow SO fast. I know friends who say that there 3 month old is in 6 month old sizes. So, instead what I did, was make iron-ons for her to put onto onesies herself (because everyone knows you get a million onesies from your bridal shower anyway), but of course I sent it along with a pack of 5 to get her started :). These were so much fun to make, and they’re a PERFECT gift for a baby shower, or after baby’s been born.

So I started by tracing circles onto the back of my Heat N Bond (LOVE this stuff!). I used a small container lid that I knew would fit on onesies, and traced it onto thin cardboard for a sturdier stencil (the lid was flimsy). Try to get them as close together as possible.

Next, iron the Heat N Bond to your fabric of choice. I used a plain cotton fabric. I cut roughly around the circles, and then I cut them out more neatly. It’s just easier this way because you don’t have all that extra fabric in the way.

Next…for the number templates. I took a piece of freezer paper and measured it to the circles. Then, I cut it, and folded it in half to find my center. *Edited to say you can totally just buy iron on numbers and the projects time would be cut significantly!*

Then I found a font and size that I liked on my computer and traced it onto the paper. On PicMonkey, when you’re writing text, there’s a little mark at the top of the box to show your center. I lined it up with the fold, and it was perfectly centered πŸ™‚

After you trace and cut out all of your numbers (I used an Xacto knife), center your freezer paper over your circles and iron them down.

Finally, paint! I used my Martha Stewart, as it goes on anything, but you could also a fabric medium and add to a regular acrylic paint. *For the most part, the numbers were nice and crisp, but I found that on a few of them the paint bled under the freezer paper. When I tried doing it on the fabric before ironing them onto the Heat N Bond, the lines were flawless. So, although it would take longer to do it this way, you could get all the numbers onto the fabric first, and then iron them onto the Heat N Bond.*

For the 12th month, I made a little candle for the 1 to make it a little different than the others as it’s the birthday month! *Edited to say, keep these number stencils! You can use freezer paper stencils more than just once! All you have to do is place a bandana or light fabric over it before ironing (this was the paint won’t get on the iron) and you don’t have to spend 20 minutes cutting out more numbers next time you want to make these!* πŸ™‚

I made a little label on the computer with directions to package them up (that you can most certainly use, if you make them! πŸ™‚ )

Then put the iron-ons in an archival bag (that I bought from Michaels), and folded and stapled the label on top.

Finally, I packaged it all up with the pack of onesies and tied it together with some string and a button πŸ™‚

I know this seemed like a lot of work, but it really wasn’t! And if you don’t have the time, you could always do everything within a few days (tracing, cutting, tracing numbers, cutting, painting etc.) I loved the way they came out, and so did the momma! She sent me a lovely message when she got them πŸ™‚

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

22 responses to “Baby Monthly Iron-On Transfers: A Tutorial

  1. what a fun idea! and yes, i have two boys and they do grow so fast! esp my second baby who has been a lot bigger than my first! he’s 13 months wearing 18 month-24 month size! (depending on brands too) i loooooove the green polka dot fabric, pls tell where you found it! this is great fun idea! she will love it! well done!

    • Thank you!! πŸ™‚ Wow! 13m and in 18-24m lol…see, I don’t get how people don’t realize that when they make them on the onesies as gifts….especially if they have kids, they should know better! I got the fabric from joann fabrics…isn’t it cute?! I’ve used it for a few other things since this too! I just love it! πŸ™‚ thanks for commenting!

    • Ahh yes! I hope she is feeling well πŸ™‚ and I hope you make them, because they are super cute and really easy…I actually meant to say that you could even get iron on numbers if you didn’t want to paint them! That would cut the projects time immensely! Thanks for commenting!

  2. I just came across your blog. These are lovely. You could easily turn some of your craftts into $$, make some in different colors, pkgs, make a logo made by: Diary of a Mad Crafter, and people will buy!!

    • Thank you so much! I am actually in the process of making some of the crafts (including these) I make to sell online πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

